We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #28 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful night”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Despite hotel is located directly in front of the main train station, city center and 2 crossing roads, as soon as you enter the hotel you cant hear nothing about it any more.
Wonderful and very delicious dinner with 3 rooms full of different food styles and music on piano during the evening as well.
Very satisfied with the service and sleeping quality.
The only thing which was not so comfortable is the size of the room was quite small that I am used to and the colours too dark for my taste.
Definetely good located for any of your trips in Nuremberg especially in X-Mas time jus a 20 minutes walk to famous market.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear SJBK88
thank you for your poistive review. You are right, the location is superb, just a few minutes walk into the historical part of the city. I very much appreciate that you liked our dinner dinner offering with life music, which is also loved by the locals for years and years. My colleagues and I value your review and we all hope that you will visit us again one day.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    395
    167
    34
    35
See reviews for
145
361
102
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wolllongong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed recently as we had been told that Nurnberg was a 'must see' place whilst we were in Germany. Location is great if you are using the train as we did. Straight across the road..... Service was exceptional, traditional German huge, hearty breakfast selection each morning (we didn't need lunch after that!!) though the rooms were quite disappointing. Would suggest that you may need to pay for the best available as ours was a little dated and smallish. Nurnberg itself is beautiful, hotel is on the edge of the old walled city which is stunning, cobbled streets, river running through the centre, medieval castle and square and lots of other interesting sites - definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevWolllongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear kevWolllongong
it is very nice to read that you quoted our medieval city as worth while visiting, thank you very much for that. I also noted that you liked our breakfast on offer but that you were a bit dissapointed with the size of the room you had. Thank you also for the advice to others to ask for a higher category. My team and I hope that you will visit us again and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has one main advantage that is hard to beat: location. It is right at the entrance of the old city, a few steps away from the walls; moreover, this particular entrance is considered the most convenient one to stroll around the old quarters. This is rather rare in Nuremberg, where most hotels are close to the exhibition centers, as this is the purpose of most visitors' trip (only NH is also close, though a few more blocks away and not quite in the same league). Plus the main train station is right across the road. Furthermore, the hotel doesn't lack in quality at all: our standard room was spacious and tastefully decorated, even though decoration was relatively simple, the bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom was super-clean, large and well-stocked. Staff was helpful and overall service fine. I am giving this five stars not in comparison to luxury resorts, but because it is a perfect city hotel. Definitely recommended for a visit to Nurnberg!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear alma78
A long time ago Conrad Hilton was asked what makes a Hotel succesful and his answer was ,location, location, location! In general I want to say thank you for your positive review and that you recommend us to others. My team and I hope that you will stay with us again, once you are in town.
Best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently spent three nights at the Meridien. Mid morning arrival but no room ready, so luggage was stored and we wondered around the city centre. Hotel is on the southern edge of the old town and it is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to the important tourist sites and the shopping area. The railway station was practically adjacent which was convenient for a trip to the former Nazi Rally Grounds a few stops away by suburban train.

On our return we were allocated our room and check was smooth and friendly. We had booked a Grand Deluxe twin. It was smartly furnished, very contemporary, if a little stark with a monochromatic colour scheme, average in size and we had a small balcony overlooking one of the original towers of the city walls. However, I honestly thought it was a standard room and had to check with the porter who delivered our luggage if we had the correct grade of room. It just didn't feel like a "Grand Deluxe" room! The bathroom was long and narrow but well equipped and had natural light and ventilation but was done in an art deco style which seemed odd when the room was so modern. We had robes and slippers too. There was a minibar and a large flat screen HD TV. My bedside table was damaged though, it looked like the side had been swipped by a massive claw ! The bed was large and comfortable with good quality linens. Its a shame the two upholstered chairs in the room were not - very 1960's in style.

The public areas were a mish mash of styles but very smart, bit of art deco, bit of Edwardian, bit of belle epoque. There was no lounge area to speak of either.

We had breakfast each morning and it was a lavish, very high quality spread, very traditional with linen and silver service - rather like the old fashioned hotels but it felt special. I think every taste was catered for and the service was excellent. The separate area of hot food was a good arrangement.

We also had dinner in the restaurant the first evening and opted for the buffet. It too was lavish and very high quality and to us seemed very good value at 35 euro per person which included limitless good quality wines. We enjoyed it very much. The service was excellent too - they employ charming staff.

We did not use any fittness facilities and had no need for WiFi so cannot comment on that aspect.

The road around the hotel is very busy and traffic noise could be heard all the time despite double glazing. It was also a little disconcerting to see people sleeping rough every night across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Whinbrook
thank you very much for your detailed review and for all aspects you mentioned. In general I believe you enjoyed your stay and you also liked our Food & Beverage offerings, thank you for that. We hoe that you will visit us again and remain
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had a 5 day business stay at the Le Meridien and was a little nervous about choosing this hotel over others that we had looked at such as the Sheraton nearby. In the end, it turned out to be a great choice even though there were a couple complaints that I would voice. First of all, check-in was quite simple and the staff was friendly and accomodating. I felt that the bellboys were especially kind and helpful. We even hit them up on advice about clubs in the area and one of them even got us on the guest list at one of them for an exclusive party.

The room was disappointingly small, yet very well decorated and comfortable. The pictures of the standard room on the website looks much larger than in real life, but then again, that usually tends to be the case on the website. I can appreciate a boutique hotel and the style of the room over the space, so I didnt mind overall. My colleagues were very disappointed with the size of their room. The bathroom was also small but extremely luxurious, which again was appreciated by me.

Here are my complaints: the car was parked in a nearby lot and we had to request the car in advance when we needed it. This seemed to be a nuisance at first, but they were usually quick about retrieving the car. Although the tips added up over 5 days. My other complaint was that we booked the room which "included breakfast" yet at check-out, the invoice showed breakfast separately and the room rate was reduced which messes up our ability to claim reimbursement for the breakfast and the staff would/could not budget on fixing the room bill. This was disappointing for us and impacted our bottom line on business travel. The business center was small but the staff was very accomodating with giving us 30 minute passes to use the computers when necessary. This saved us from paying an expensive daily rate.

The gym facilities were very good with new equipment, weights, and spa facilities. The locker rooms were very nice and everything was comortable and clean. Towels, water, and fresh apples were provided every day.

The breakfast was exceptional and elegant. The wait staff is outstanding with a few stand-ours in particular. I liked how the buffet was spread into separate rooms and the chef was always there to make eggs to order. Again, the breakfast was charged separately upon check-out, so be aware of this issue if you are on business and it matters (which it might not).

Finally, the location was superb. Right next to the train station, and across the street from the beginning of the altstadt. We've traveled all over Germany and all over Europe and Nurenburg's downtown area is one of the most beautiful around. It should not be missed. That being said, I would also be happy just sitting around the Le Meridien for 5 days and soaking in the elegance of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HUTCH1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear HUTCH1113
thank you that you took the time and effort to write such a long review about your stay and in general I summarise that you were a happy guest, thank you for that. The breakfast on the bill, a huge problem in our lovely country and I want to give you an explanation for that. In general we have a VAT of 19%, but a few months ago the German government has decided to reduce the VAT for acoomodation to 7%. All hoteliers were and are delighted, since this frees funds for necessary renovations. On the other side, VAT for breafast, lunch and dinner remained at 19%. It is a legal requirement to show all charges with different VAT, since the taxman, as in other countries, is a very hungry man. I am still happy that you rate this old Grande Dame so well and my team and I looking forward welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute. The hotel is conveniently located right opposite the railway station. The rooms are small but the beds are comfortable. Please note that the hotel dose not provide free wifi access and the charge is rather high.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoNo0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear NoNo0011
We have heard the comments about the wifi now a few times already and I am happy to inform you ,that the compny and the hotel managementi working on a solution that will please both sides.
Yours sincerely
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite being opposite the train and trolley stations, this hotel is quiet and elegant. The area is good and it is convenient to walk everywhere. I had a large, lovely corner room and enjoyed the views. The Atelier bar is small but friendly, the lobby areas very classy. Only con is the main elevator takes forever (but I noticed an airline crew using a smaller elevator near the front desk :)
It's now my go-to hotel in Nurnberg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthenamesaretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_rgen_S187310, Manager at Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear allthenamesaretaken
it's nice to read that we have another fan of the Grand Hotel. Just to let you know, we ordered a new elevator cabin, which will be completed in January 2013. Once you come back after that date, you will enjoy the most modern elevator ride.
My team and I looking forward welcoming you back.
Best regards
Jürgen Sziegoleit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 126 in Nuremberg
859 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 126 in Nuremberg
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#29 of 126 in Nuremberg
124 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg

Property: Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#21 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#32 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally opposite the main train station and at the entrance to the historic Old Town, Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg is the first hotel on the square. Guests can easily reach many sights on foot. Due to our passion for art guests of Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nuremberg enjoy free entry at the "Neues Museum" through our Unlock ArtTM programme; their room key card is their entry ticket. For your overnight stay in Nuremberg we offer 192 hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Grand Hotel Nurnberg
Le Meridien Nuremberg
Nuremberg Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing