We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near train station and comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #55 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived by train so location is ideal - only 3 mins walk from train station but also close to town. An underpass next to hotel takes you under the road to give you direct access into Old Town and about a 10 minute walk finds you right in the heart of the old city and the Christkindlemarkt, which was lovely to visit. Room was large & warm, bed was comfortable. Some other people we met complained about rooms being too hot or cold but we found our heating worked fine and were able to control warmth. We were on front of hotel, overlooking old town which was nice but the road is busy so you wouldn't want to open the windows to get some fresh air. It was very cold when we were there (minus 8 one day) and hotel was lovely and warm, so no fear of being too cold. Breakfast was great - about everything you could have wanted and more besides! Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke great English. Not a very stylish hotel but comfortable and well located - did the trick!

Room Tip: Rooms on front have busy main road but also a view. We are told the rooms at the back looked onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time rating our hotel.
I am pleased that you are satisfied with our service and the hotel itself. Our location is our special benefit and is a sign for MARITIM Hotels.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel next stay in Nuremberg. It is a very nice city all over the year.

With best wishes

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 569 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

good, clean hotel though quite pricey.breakfast and wifi not included. Close to train and city centre and staff were friendly, spoke english and gave us an umbrella to use when it was raining. Room was quite old though comfortable, view of construction out of window. It was fine but not outstanding for the price.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback of your stay.
I would like to apologize for the room with view on the construction side.
Proximity to old town and main station concludes that we are an inner city hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in our lovely city and in our traditional hotel.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is a very short walk to the Christmas Markets and the old part of town, so the location in good. Our room was small, and very uncomfortable due to the lack of pillows and the fact that we were unable to regulate the heat, causing our room to be very hot. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was attractive.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time rating our hotel.
I am pleased that you are satisfied with the location of the hotel itself.
We are located directly at the entrance to inner city and also the famous “Christkindles Market” is only a few minutes away in Christmas time.
Dear Guest, please report the lack of pillows immediately to the front desk next time, so we are able to bring you another pair of pillows and give you a hand with regulating your radiator.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel next stay in Nuremberg.

With best wishes

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were visiting Nuremberg with a Great Rail Journey holiday to the Christkindlemarkt and when we got off the train the Hotel Maritim was a very welcome sight and very handy for the Bahnhof and the old own. Our bedroom was nice and spacious and the quality of the buffet breakfast out of this world. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Nuremberg.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gordy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and the positive feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Nuremberg.
I will pass your satisfaction to our staff.

I hope we can welcome you, if your journey brings you to Nuremberg again.
It is a lovely city all over the year, not only for visiting at Christmas time.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was a very good stay and somewhere I would stay again. It was within 200m of the train station and right across the street from the entrance to the old town. One thing I will caution you to do, when you get off the train don’t follow the signs to the Aldstadt (city) either go out the front doors or follow the signs to the west entrance- towards the IC hotel/ DB museum and you can see it. It’s easy to walk there, you just have to cross one street.
The hotel is big, and the room is the same size as any hotel room in North America. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean and within an easy walk to the Haupt Markt and the shopping and the Christmas Markets.
There is a fridge and safe in the room. The safe was large enough for my lap top and husbands ipad at the same time.
The restaurant is very good. I would recommend it the best schnitzel I’ve eaten in Germany other than homemade!
Also, take time to go to the documentation museum. It was worth the 5 Euro it cost to get in. It is an easy ride on the S Bahn from the Hauptbahnhof.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovetotravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for the time you have taken for rating Maritm Hotel Nuremberg.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and that you were satisfied with us. The Maritim Hotel Nuremberg is characterized for its proximity to the beautiful old town and in food step distance to the main railway station. So there is nothing to add to your comment and we hope you will join us next time your journey brings you to Nuremberg.
So far, I wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only stayed at the Maritim one night but had a great experience. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom large for Europe. The staff at the hotel was friendly and professional. We arrived early and left late and the hotel staff secured our luggage in a locked room.

The hotel is very close to the train station and across the street from the city walls - can't get more convenient.

We will stay here when we return to Nurnberg.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback about MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, even if it was a quite short one and that you were satisfied with the rooms and our staff.

Dear Guest, I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just returned from a great short break in Nuremberg visiting the Christmas Markets. The Hotel is very well situated a 5 minute walk from the Main Railway Station and the same from the Old Town City Walls.

We found the staff most pleasant and helpful and although I was willing to speak in German they spoke perfect English along with many other languages. Good size clean rooms well serviced and quiet providing for our needs.

The meals were well presented a little pricey but we were in the middle of a very busy city so no different from other cities around the world. We loved the breakfast a great choice catering for all tastes like many places if you do not see it ask and the staff will do there utmost to provide (could not quite get my taste buds to come to grips with the boiled sausage).

Internet is provided at a cost for those that require it hard wired in your room or you can set up a wireless hot spot account with the local provider all at a cost though average about 19 Euro for 600 minutes. I chose to stick with a roaming package. That said plenty of Internet Cafe in the city.

The Railway Station is a gateway to most places we ventured out twice and used the train on both occasions cheap and easy to use and a great way to see the country side around the city. Likewise the buses all run on time get yourself a rover ticket great value.

We had a fantastic time around the markets which was made all that much better due to the location of the hotel its staff and facilities.

We will be returning next year

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadgetmonsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you have taken for rating MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.

I am pleased that you are satisfied with our service and passed the positive feedback to our employees.
The compliments I have also passed to our kitchen and breakfast staff, which is always keen on having a high standard.
You already have seen a lot in Nuremberg and surroundings. Please contact our front desk next time you are in Nuremberg for some special destinations and sightseeings you may be interested in.

I am going to look forward to welcome you again next year in Nuremberg.

With best Christmas wishes

Alexander Buck
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
IntercityHotel Nurnberg
#70 of 126 in Nuremberg
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 126 in Nuremberg
907 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,374 reviews
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#22 of 126 in Nuremberg
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Address: Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range: $92 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Nurnberg 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Nürnberg awaits you in the immediate vicinity of the historic old city with its numerous monuments and buildings, including the Kaiserburg and a host of fascinating museums. Located in a very convenient place with regard to traffic connections - the main railway station is just a few paces away - and the autobahn, airport and trade fair are just a few kilometres away, the elegant hotel is not only an ideal starting point for business travellers and travellers to the city, but also a perfect partner for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing