We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good hotel close to hauptbahnhoff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
Ranked #39 of 132 Hotels in Nuremberg
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good hotel close to hauptbahnhoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

good, clean hotel though quite pricey.breakfast and wifi not included. Close to train and city centre and staff were friendly, spoke english and gave us an umbrella to use when it was raining. Room was quite old though comfortable, view of construction out of window. It was fine but not outstanding for the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback of your stay.
I would like to apologize for the room with view on the construction side.
Proximity to old town and main station concludes that we are an inner city hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in our lovely city and in our traditional hotel.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    209
    113
    29
    12
See reviews for
38
119
32
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
488 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a very short walk to the Christmas Markets and the old part of town, so the location in good. Our room was small, and very uncomfortable due to the lack of pillows and the fact that we were unable to regulate the heat, causing our room to be very hot. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was attractive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time rating our hotel.
I am pleased that you are satisfied with the location of the hotel itself.
We are located directly at the entrance to inner city and also the famous “Christkindles Market” is only a few minutes away in Christmas time.
Dear Guest, please report the lack of pillows immediately to the front desk next time, so we are able to bring you another pair of pillows and give you a hand with regulating your radiator.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel next stay in Nuremberg.

With best wishes

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We were visiting Nuremberg with a Great Rail Journey holiday to the Christkindlemarkt and when we got off the train the Hotel Maritim was a very welcome sight and very handy for the Bahnhof and the old own. Our bedroom was nice and spacious and the quality of the buffet breakfast out of this world. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Nuremberg.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and the positive feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Nuremberg.
I will pass your satisfaction to our staff.

I hope we can welcome you, if your journey brings you to Nuremberg again.
It is a lovely city all over the year, not only for visiting at Christmas time.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was a very good stay and somewhere I would stay again. It was within 200m of the train station and right across the street from the entrance to the old town. One thing I will caution you to do, when you get off the train don’t follow the signs to the Aldstadt (city) either go out the front doors or follow the signs to the west entrance- towards the IC hotel/ DB museum and you can see it. It’s easy to walk there, you just have to cross one street.
The hotel is big, and the room is the same size as any hotel room in North America. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean and within an easy walk to the Haupt Markt and the shopping and the Christmas Markets.
There is a fridge and safe in the room. The safe was large enough for my lap top and husbands ipad at the same time.
The restaurant is very good. I would recommend it the best schnitzel I’ve eaten in Germany other than homemade!
Also, take time to go to the documentation museum. It was worth the 5 Euro it cost to get in. It is an easy ride on the S Bahn from the Hauptbahnhof.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetotravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for the time you have taken for rating Maritm Hotel Nuremberg.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and that you were satisfied with us. The Maritim Hotel Nuremberg is characterized for its proximity to the beautiful old town and in food step distance to the main railway station. So there is nothing to add to your comment and we hope you will join us next time your journey brings you to Nuremberg.
So far, I wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

With best regards

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only stayed at the Maritim one night but had a great experience. The room was spotless, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom large for Europe. The staff at the hotel was friendly and professional. We arrived early and left late and the hotel staff secured our luggage in a locked room.

The hotel is very close to the train station and across the street from the city walls - can't get more convenient.

We will stay here when we return to Nurnberg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback about MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, even if it was a quite short one and that you were satisfied with the rooms and our staff.

Dear Guest, I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Faithfully

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just returned from a great short break in Nuremberg visiting the Christmas Markets. The Hotel is very well situated a 5 minute walk from the Main Railway Station and the same from the Old Town City Walls.

We found the staff most pleasant and helpful and although I was willing to speak in German they spoke perfect English along with many other languages. Good size clean rooms well serviced and quiet providing for our needs.

The meals were well presented a little pricey but we were in the middle of a very busy city so no different from other cities around the world. We loved the breakfast a great choice catering for all tastes like many places if you do not see it ask and the staff will do there utmost to provide (could not quite get my taste buds to come to grips with the boiled sausage).

Internet is provided at a cost for those that require it hard wired in your room or you can set up a wireless hot spot account with the local provider all at a cost though average about 19 Euro for 600 minutes. I chose to stick with a roaming package. That said plenty of Internet Cafe in the city.

The Railway Station is a gateway to most places we ventured out twice and used the train on both occasions cheap and easy to use and a great way to see the country side around the city. Likewise the buses all run on time get yourself a rover ticket great value.

We had a fantastic time around the markets which was made all that much better due to the location of the hotel its staff and facilities.

We will be returning next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetmonsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you have taken for rating MARITIM Hotel Nuremberg.

I am pleased that you are satisfied with our service and passed the positive feedback to our employees.
The compliments I have also passed to our kitchen and breakfast staff, which is always keen on having a high standard.
You already have seen a lot in Nuremberg and surroundings. Please contact our front desk next time you are in Nuremberg for some special destinations and sightseeings you may be interested in.

I am going to look forward to welcome you again next year in Nuremberg.

With best Christmas wishes

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. As previous reviewers have stated the location of the hotel is excellent. It is a two minute walk from the main railway station. The Old Town is on the other side of a very busy road. However, there is an underpass just a few steps away from the main entrance,of the hotel, which takes you to the, mainly, traffic free centre of the town.
The public rooms of the hotel are decorated in the Art Deco style. The restaurant is especially elegant. The buffet breakfast, both hot and cold, is one of the best I have come across. We had one evening meal in the restaurant and enjoyed it so much we booked a table for the next night. That turned out to be a buffet which I was slightly dubious about. I have to say my fears were unfounded as the meal was delicious. The choice of food was fantastic. Although the restaurant was beautifully presented and the staff were very attentive it was all very relaxed with no stuffiness.
Our bedroom (526) was very large, clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom. Nice touch was the welcoming chocolate on your pillow and the small bag of sweets that were left every day.
All members of staff, we had dealings with, were exceptionally friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander-Buck, Manager at Maritim Hotel Nurnberg, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you have taken for rating our hotel.

I am happy that you are satisfied with our service, our hotel and the surroundings.

I am also pleased that you were so cheerful with our breakfast and restaurant service. The compliments I have also passed to our kitchen and restaurant staff, which is always keen on having a high standard.

We are glad to offer our guests the direct proximity to Nuremberg’s old town and main train station.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel during your next journey to Nuremberg.

With best Christmas wishes,

Alexander Buck
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Nuremberg
#34 of 132 in Nuremberg
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#2 of 132 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Nurnberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Nurnberg

Property: Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
Address: Frauentorgraben 11, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Nurnberg 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Hotel Nürnberg awaits you in the immediate vicinity of the historic old city with its numerous monuments and buildings, including the Kaiserburg and a host of fascinating museums. Located in a very convenient place with regard to traffic connections - the main railway station is just a few paces away - and the autobahn, airport and trade fair are just a few kilometres away, the elegant hotel is not only an ideal starting point for business travellers and travellers to the city, but also a perfect partner for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Maritim Hotel Nurnberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing