We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&O Nurnberg Hauptbahnhof
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is very well situated for a visit to Nuremburg. 10 minutes walk from the main street with lots of restaurants etc. Parking is limited but there is an underground carpark in the square behind it. It's a hostel / hotel so don't expect luxury - you're staying here for a good basic roof over your head while you explore the city. Clean spot and friendly staff. Pool table in lobby. Breakfast basic but good. We stayed with a 6 year old child and it was just fine for us. I would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mossyvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for A&O Nurnberg Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

i stayed there with 4 friends and got a hotel room for 5 which is cheap compared to other hotel i search on web. the room is clean and the staff were nice. they have lift so you don't have to drag your suitcase up the stairs. the bed were nice and in a good size. the bathroom was clean too. it is good enough for you who want to spend the rest of the day outside and comeback to the hotel just to sleep. of course, it will be boring if you stay all day in this kind of low budget hotel. the price shows, but still clean, near the main railway station, cozy and sleep able :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosaline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here with my students while traveling through Germany in June. We arrived on a very hot day, one of those days when you wish some Germans understood the concepts of ceiling fans, room fans, or simply air conditioning. I've stayed in some hotels when it;s hot with no AC but this place was like an oven.The rooms were miserably hot and opening the windows simply sucked in more hot air. Tried opening the doors to the hallway and that didn't help much. I basically had to abandon my room until it got dark. One would think that this hotel would be sensitive to the needs of its guests when it comes to a comfortable climate and at least have fans in the rooms, if not AC available during the warm season. My kids were in the same boat too as was my other chaperon. The other big issue is that, at the crack of dawn, I discovered just how thin the windows are on the street side of the hotel. A trash and a recycling (?) truck came and it seemed an eternity until the finished smashing/compacting glass and trash in the street below before hauling it off. Every car horn, every squeal of brakes and other street noise could be clearly heard as if the windows were wide open (I was so bothered by traffic noise during the night I tried shutting the windowsto block it out). This was among the poorest night's sleep I have ever had in any hotel. Other than these things, there is a nice lobby and staff seemed friendly and helpful within the bounds of which they had to work. There is a great bar on the top floor where you can get cocktails and have a nice view. It's just a shame the other problems cannot be fixed, otherwise, this would be a pretty decent place. No one in our group got much sleep, except those that were lucky enough to not be on a street facing room.

Room Tip: Do not go here in late June through July since if it is hot, you will roast alive in this hotel. Als...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A&O is in a great spot near the train station and old town. Modern and clean compared most hostels. Room was clean but worn a bit. Nothing out of the ordinary for hostels that have daily turnover. Lobby was inviting. A&O offered a number of services at a reasonable price. Breakfast, laundry, ect..... Rooftop bar was inviting. Staff was knowledgeable and kind. Biggest issue was street noise that made sleeping difficult. Construction nearby and a busy road made for early mornings. Get a place in the back and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

GREAT all around place to be, spacious rooms, and very clean in room bathrooms. The staff made it especially special. BIG lobby bar, cheap prices. Guest kitchen downstairs and washing machines downstairs - no windows? that would be the only point they need to improve, is gues kitchen upstairs, and places to dine...apart from their restaurant. VERY safe place to be at

Room Tip: minutes from train station, yet very quiet place to be..
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monsieur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Convenient location near the main train station, as well as connected to many local subway lines that also lead to the airport.

The 4 bed room was very clean, large but also cosy enough. The toilet was modern and bright, with a separate shower from the toilet, which was a lovely touch.

Wifi signal strong and solid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallmarkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

For full disclosure, I will say this was not my first choice for a hotel. I planned a last minute trip for my family and my sibling's family to Nuremberg. I discovered finding a family room was not an easy task. I either had to pay a fortune for multiple rooms or try something else. I was pleasantly surprised by A&O Hotel/Hostel. The family rooms had 2 singles put together to make a double and a set of bunk beds. There were absolutely no frills, but the room was clean and adequate for what we needed. The toilet and shower were in separate rooms, so one person could shower and my potty-training son could still get to the bathroom without interrupting someone.

The lobby had free wi-fi and paid access to desktop computers. The breakfast was affordable and not bad. Definitely not an American breakfast, but enough to keep everyone full until we had time for lunch. The location was perfect and all of old-town Nuremberg was a short walk away.

The cons we experienced were:
1. The wi-fi that was supposed to be available in the room did not work, so we had to go to the lobby to use the computer. They did refund our payment on the in-room wi-fi, though.
2. The rooms did not have darkening curtains so the light shown in all night long and it was hard to sleep with that much light.
3. There are no phones in the room.
4. There is no sort of extra lock on the inside of the room door. My small son escaped and would have ran off if I had not been paying attention. Not exactly a safe thing for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,351 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#15 of 126 in Nuremberg
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#25 of 126 in Nuremberg
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Nurnberg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Nurnberg Hauptbahnhof

Address: Bahnhofstr. 13-15, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range: $36 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Nurnberg Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely rebuilt and renovated building offers modern rooms in various hotel and hostel categories just a few minutes from Nuremburg Central Station. With its enormous lobby and bar area, as well as its panorama bar, the location invites guests to relax and have fun. The A&O Nürnberg Hauptbahnhof is just 300 meters from the Central Station and the Altstadt. Because of the amazingly central location the A&O hotel is easy to reach by public transportation as well as by car, and offers you the ideal starting point for excursions into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Nurnberg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing