We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff. good for backpacker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice staff. good for backpacker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

i stayed there with 4 friends and got a hotel room for 5 which is cheap compared to other hotel i search on web. the room is clean and the staff were nice. they have lift so you don't have to drag your suitcase up the stairs. the bed were nice and in a good size. the bathroom was clean too. it is good enough for you who want to spend the rest of the day outside and comeback to the hotel just to sleep. of course, it will be boring if you stay all day in this kind of low budget hotel. the price shows, but still clean, near the main railway station, cozy and sleep able :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosaline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    73
    71
    42
    62
See reviews for
70
30
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here with my students while traveling through Germany in June. We arrived on a very hot day, one of those days when you wish some Germans understood the concepts of ceiling fans, room fans, or simply air conditioning. I've stayed in some hotels when it;s hot with no AC but this place was like an oven.The rooms were miserably hot and opening the windows simply sucked in more hot air. Tried opening the doors to the hallway and that didn't help much. I basically had to abandon my room until it got dark. One would think that this hotel would be sensitive to the needs of its guests when it comes to a comfortable climate and at least have fans in the rooms, if not AC available during the warm season. My kids were in the same boat too as was my other chaperon. The other big issue is that, at the crack of dawn, I discovered just how thin the windows are on the street side of the hotel. A trash and a recycling (?) truck came and it seemed an eternity until the finished smashing/compacting glass and trash in the street below before hauling it off. Every car horn, every squeal of brakes and other street noise could be clearly heard as if the windows were wide open (I was so bothered by traffic noise during the night I tried shutting the windowsto block it out). This was among the poorest night's sleep I have ever had in any hotel. Other than these things, there is a nice lobby and staff seemed friendly and helpful within the bounds of which they had to work. There is a great bar on the top floor where you can get cocktails and have a nice view. It's just a shame the other problems cannot be fixed, otherwise, this would be a pretty decent place. No one in our group got much sleep, except those that were lucky enough to not be on a street facing room.

Room Tip: Do not go here in late June through July since if it is hot, you will roast alive in this hotel. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuremberg hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

A&O is in a great spot near the train station and old town. Modern and clean compared most hostels. Room was clean but worn a bit. Nothing out of the ordinary for hostels that have daily turnover. Lobby was inviting. A&O offered a number of services at a reasonable price. Breakfast, laundry, ect..... Rooftop bar was inviting. Staff was knowledgeable and kind. Biggest issue was street noise that made sleeping difficult. Construction nearby and a busy road made for early mornings. Get a place in the back and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

GREAT all around place to be, spacious rooms, and very clean in room bathrooms. The staff made it especially special. BIG lobby bar, cheap prices. Guest kitchen downstairs and washing machines downstairs - no windows? that would be the only point they need to improve, is gues kitchen upstairs, and places to dine...apart from their restaurant. VERY safe place to be at

Room Tip: minutes from train station, yet very quiet place to be..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsieur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Convenient location near the main train station, as well as connected to many local subway lines that also lead to the airport.

The 4 bed room was very clean, large but also cosy enough. The toilet was modern and bright, with a separate shower from the toilet, which was a lovely touch.

Wifi signal strong and solid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallmarkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

For full disclosure, I will say this was not my first choice for a hotel. I planned a last minute trip for my family and my sibling's family to Nuremberg. I discovered finding a family room was not an easy task. I either had to pay a fortune for multiple rooms or try something else. I was pleasantly surprised by A&O Hotel/Hostel. The family rooms had 2 singles put together to make a double and a set of bunk beds. There were absolutely no frills, but the room was clean and adequate for what we needed. The toilet and shower were in separate rooms, so one person could shower and my potty-training son could still get to the bathroom without interrupting someone.

The lobby had free wi-fi and paid access to desktop computers. The breakfast was affordable and not bad. Definitely not an American breakfast, but enough to keep everyone full until we had time for lunch. The location was perfect and all of old-town Nuremberg was a short walk away.

The cons we experienced were:
1. The wi-fi that was supposed to be available in the room did not work, so we had to go to the lobby to use the computer. They did refund our payment on the in-room wi-fi, though.
2. The rooms did not have darkening curtains so the light shown in all night long and it was hard to sleep with that much light.
3. There are no phones in the room.
4. There is no sort of extra lock on the inside of the room door. My small son escaped and would have ran off if I had not been paying attention. Not exactly a safe thing for a family with small kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyfromkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a nightmare stay of 4 nights at the A&O Hostel in Berlin, this was such a refreshing surprise. The staff was friendly, the lobby and dining area very bright, cheery and inviting. Our room and bathroom was bigger and seemed much brighter. Food was pretty much the same but you got to help yourself in a room large enough to move around it. The dining area also had a kids play area. I'd definitely come here again and feel comfortable enough to bring my kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#18 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#21 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 13-15, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing