We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balanced view of the time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende

Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.73*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Day Trip with Train Transport from Munich
Ranked #1 of 171 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Balanced view of the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Any other museum tells how terrible Hitler was, but doesn't teach you how he came to power (the full story). This is a very interesting place, and maps the progress made by the 3rd reich, the hows and the whys.

A must visit if in Nurnberg, easily accessed by tram from the HBF.

Doesn't cost very much to visit, and has a handheld audio guide in multiple langauges, describing every section of the tour. You do not have to rush, as the audio starts for each section when you press the button.

You can take a relaxing walk around the lake whilst here, which offers an alternative view of the congress hall.

Very interesting tour, i really learnt a lot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sc-luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    532
    124
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Absorbing for history buffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The museum consists of a very large number of small interconnected rooms that provide a huge amount of detail on the Nazi parade grounds and ceremonial buildings that were placed in or just planned for this area of Nuremberg. There's a good mix of documents, film clips, scale models and artifacts, knitted together by a portable audio guide device. It's nowhere near as dryly factual and text-heavy as most museums in Germany. There's so much to take in that it's easy to spend over two hours there if the subject matter grips you. Unlikely to appeal to kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K0lya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“NSDAP Kongresshale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent exhibits detailing history of the rise of National Socialism. This museum is housed in a the former Nazi Party Congress Hall. (which was never finished)

We almost missed this museum as we walked up Grosse Strasse and did not see the side entrance facing the street. There was a festival taking place between the Messe and the Congress Hall so we walked around by the lake. Which turned out to be a pleasant experience of watching the kayak club practicing there. We had gone into the open air part of the Congress Hall, which is now used as a parking lot when we saw a man on an elevated walkway outside of the building but we could not figure out how he got there. Once we found the museum we too were able to go out on the walkway.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tucsondesertrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very well laid out museum, thought provoking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The displays were very informative with a comprehensive audio commentary. I thought it was a reflective analysis of the rallies/architecture that included enough context to support understanding (including that some particpants were there for the beer rather than the Party!) and a frank description of the horrors of the regime.

Highly recommended, a short ride from the centre of town on the tram. Allow a couple of hours to walk around the park to see the Zepplin Field.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Fascinating, moving, outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even if you think you know a lot about the history of the Nazi period, you are sure to learn something here. The free audioguide is exceptional, the building itself is a fascinating environment, and the possibility of walking around outside in what is left of the Nazi Rally grounds is thought-provoking in the extreme.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Dokumentationszentrum Reichsparteitagsgelaende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing