We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, local food and good drinks selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube

Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube
Ranked #75 of 1,116 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good quality, local food and good drinks selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked a table, on the advice of reception. The restaurant was very busy but service was very good. The staff were helpful as our German is poor and the food was very good quality for both main and desert. The wine list is good and the cost was reasonable for the quality of food offered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimes, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently enjoyed a perfect evening with the kids at this restaurant at our hotel's recommendation. The wait staff was nice and helpful to us non-German speakers and helped us through the menu, offering suggestions based on our preferences. Even our picky ten yr old had a great experience with the pork roast.

We just walked up to the restaurant this one evening and were able to find a seat easily.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tejdhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This one is perfect i recently went there with my mother and we had "Pressfleisch" in a perfect taste ... a perfect location for local food

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a lovely dinner in the Weinstube”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate at Das Steichele in early December, after a snowy drive from Berlin to Nuremberg, and we absolutely loved it. Because of two large holiday parties, we were very glad that we’d had our hotel reserve for us. We also noticed that the table adjacent to us was being shared by two unrelated parties; Das Steichele, with its simple rustic wooden chairs and folkloric decorations, is that kind of homey place. That said, they offer the menu in English as well as German.

There was a special herring appetizer on the menu, but alas by 7PM this was sold out. However, the smoked salmon with very thin, crisp potato pancakes and herbed sour cream made a nice substitute. For mains, we had a spectacular Weinerschnitzel with fries and mixed green salad (a standard accompaniment with main courses, so that an appetizer is not essential); and the restaurant’s own version of Zürcher geschnetzeltes, made with pork instead of the usual veal. This latter dish was amazing – with its ham, Gruyere, mushrooms and rich sauce with a hint of tomato and paprika, it was far more flavorful than the traditional Zürcher geschnetzeltes. In fact, since returning home we’ve recreated this dish and added it to our regular rotation.

A note about the salad, which was typically German: dressed greens as well as separate mounds of pickled vegetables. We also enjoyed the local wheat beer, Tucher Weissbier. This meal was truly a bargain at 60 Euros, including the round-up from 57.80 Euros.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Make reservations well in advance. The menu is great.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AYNIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Das Steichele Hotel Restaurant Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing