We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my favorite place in Nuremberg”
Review of Zum Gulden Stern

Zum Gulden Stern
Ranked #160 of 1,137 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Cuisines: Barbecue, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Lorenz
California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is my favorite place in Nuremberg”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have been coming here for three years in a row and I never miss eating here.
The ambiance is the best. It is right down the street from the Holiday Inn in the city center and it feels like you step back in time.
I always best the pork loin and the potatoes. It comes on a heart shaped pewter plate (which I love that detail!).
The people are so nice. One younger girl spoke fairly good English but I did not see her this year. The rest really don't speak hardly any but you can point out what you want. The menu has English in the back. Limited menu.
The seating is picnic table style so maybe not a fancy business dinner place.
I'm not a beer drinker but I have overheard others there really like the beer selection.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank supergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    131
    70
    18
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good Spot for Nuernberger Sausages”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very popular Bratwurst house, they do an adequate job with the famous Nuernberger sausages, although my husband and I agreed that they were a bit greasy and not as good as the ones that we had in Munich. However, their pork knuckle was fantastic. Very authentic atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneaoplis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We go every year!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is great! We go every year during the Nuremberg ToyFair. Everything is yummy here. We always get the big platter of various meats to share. And there is never anything left. The little Nuremberg sausages, that look like breakfast sausage, are the best. Just try not to pop them in your mouth like potato chips! The ambience is fun, and while it seems a little touristy (mostly because the waitresses are dressed up in traditional garb) there are always many locals here. The low slung ceilings and rough tables and chairs add to the traditional feel of the place. Oh, and you must order the Kartoffelsalat (german potato salad) its quite lovely!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davismama2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sausages since 1419”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

No stay in Nuremburg is complete without a visit here. 6 Bratwurst and potato salad was sufficient for me ---you choose 6, 8 or 12 with either saurkraut or potato salad. the atmosphere is fantastic. Many locals. The dunkel beer is very very good. We were made very welcome----definitely not one to choose for any veggies as some American visitors discovered!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roefamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine and friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If in Nürnberg, do not miss to have a meal at Zum Guldenen Stern. A restaurant with very genuine and friendly atmosphere. They mainly serve sausages and a few other meat dishes, but that contributes to the genuinity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Gulden Stern also viewed

 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Zum Gulden Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing