We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Bratwurst, Great Beer, Gemütliche Atmosphere!”
Review of Zum Gulden Stern

Zum Gulden Stern
Ranked #155 of 1,128 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Gourmet Bratwurst, Great Beer, Gemütliche Atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not exactly haut-cuisine, but the little Nuremberg sausages and pork grilled in front of you are very good indeed. We tried the local dark (Dunkles Bier) that most other people seemed to be drinking and were not disappointed. Having has soup to start, we were well satisfied with our 2 courses. The busy atmosphere was authentic, but the whole restaurant was friendly, welcoming and typically “cosy”. On top of all that, it was great value!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    126
    67
    18
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, very quaint!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The smell of the bratwurst cooking hits you as you walk into this restaurant. Immediately you're transported back in time, old German town tavern perhaps. Greeted by the waitress in full Bavarian garb, you're seated (sometimes sharing a table with others). Menu is limited, and its all about the pork. Do order the freshly grated horseradish. Don't order more than 8 links. It gets filling, and the taste a tad repetitive. We visited at lunch, and both ordered 6 links each plus sauerkraut. I would suggest North American diners to order the sauerkraut as the side rather than the potato. (The potato salad is not how it is like in North America and takes getting used to.) Many older locals were having lunch while we were there. The service was bright and cheerful. The bread basket on the table is communal and you only pay for what you eat. Even just as an experience or to try a typical Bratwurst in a city famous for its Bratwurst, do go.

Helpful?
Thank Fionarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina/virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate dinner here on a Saturday evening in early September seated outdoors at a table for two. My husband loved his brats, potato salad and beer. I had an excellent potato soup. We are not big eaters, so even with him ordering the smallest number of brats I willingly had to help him by eating one. I had been worried that it might be a bit of a touristy place, but it felt like going to a friendly neighborhood restaurant. I would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Nuremberg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loopbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome brats”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very small in terms of what Americans think of bratwurst, but very flavorful. An order of 8 or 12 is not too much for an adult. The bread that's on the table is NOT complimentary, so you pay for what you eat. Waitress was a bit surly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lanette_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
753 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Nuremburg sausages”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch here with our Bayern Trips Oktoberfest tour. Just choose how many sausages you want - 6 8 10 - and which sides - kraut or potato salad. Sausages are cooked over wood. Goes well with Weissbeer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Gulden Stern also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Zum Gulden Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing