We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest pension owner ever”
Review of Pension Im Bett

Pension Im Bett
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Im Bett
Ranked #104 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest pension owner ever”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel I could fing in Nurnberg at that time. I was expecting it to be awfull and dirty. But it wasn't! The room was nice and clean, you won't like it only if you expect something fancy and fashionable. Also very warm. We didn't get breakfast but there was a supermarket very close with a bakery too. It's not in a nice part of the city, but it worked for us. Metro station 10min, and bus station in front of the hotel. The night guys did not speak english, but then again, we speak german too so we didnt mind. The owner was very friendly and helpfull and offered us a discount for booking the room directly by e mail to him.

Room Tip: It should have free wi-fi and better or cheaper breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
9
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I paid a lot of money to sleep in the hotel some 150 meters further. So I can not tell you how are the rooms there. I even didn't see a single one, except but on the "famous" pictures of course. The guy is a very good commercial.. He is able to sing you a song just that you shut up. He was also claiming that in German law, it is allowed to relocate somebody when no rooms are available, but it is not an obligation. I would really like to ask german friends if that's true or not. By the way, I paid 300 EUR for two nights. If somebody would really like to pay a lot of money for not being able to see his room, go for it!! By the way, the breakfast, I think, really.. It was some food from Aldi or Lidl.. I don't care eating when I'm home.. But not when I pay 150EUR a night!! Oh! Of course! The famous hotel i've been relocated to, there was a TV, but not working.. And I don't even speak about Internet..

Room Tip: I don't know. I couldn't see any of them..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm062013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuremberg hotels

Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

First, understand what we were doing. My wife and I decided to do what my friends did 30 years ago, take a small backpack and a Eurail pass to travel around part of Europe in a simple fashion. We looked for decent, basic hotels within walking distance (or an easy bus or tram ride) from the train station and/or from the main attractions. We usually spent one night in each place and moved on. We did not spend much time in the hotels, so we required only a decent place to sleep, bathe, and wash out some clothes in the sink. If breakfast was included, all the better.

For some reason, we did not realize how far away this hotel is from the train station and the old town. There was a convention in town, so we took what we could get. The staff was friendly and helpful, giving us a private bathroom (which is what we thought we had reserved but apparently not). The man on duty in the afternoon spoke English, but his colleague in the morning did not. The room was small, basic, and clean. We used the local train and buses to get around but ended up walking with our packs more than we would have liked. If we had to plan our trip again, we would skip Nuremberg entirely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trottermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We found the staff very helpful and friendly, room was very clean. Was easy to get in town, about 5 min walk to tube station. We found the price (about £55) for two people without breakfest reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

160 Euro per night inc breakfast! Very basic rooms, duvet was smaller than the area of the top of the bed (about a foot all the way around). Not a nice location.

Only two redeeming features 1) helpful and pleasant manager 2) clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbrewer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We left it late to book a hotel in Nurnberg & anything that was available was very pricey. This looked ok with the photo's shown, & the reviews were ok.
I thought that the rate charged was very pricey for what was a very basic pension.
However, we took 2 rooms for 4 people. the rooms were clean & airy. Linen was clean & plentiful. 1 room was not en-suite & the shared bathroom could have been cleaner.
Breakfast was fine @ €7.50 a head. the staff were very friendly & everyone on reception spoke excellent English.
This is about 3/4 kms from City centre & 10 minutes walk to train station. Very few facilities around the area, which is not very nice, but there is a shopping centre with restaurants & bars about 5 minutes walk. These close about 2000 hours.
We left an item behind & the staff located it & were more than helpful in trying to return it to us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenEnniscorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

If I was late for class at senior school, the master would give me the task of writing out, by hand, the words “I must not be late for class” one hundred times. Being late booking a hotel in Nuremberg means that, as a punishment, you get to stay at the Pension Im Bett.

Located in the cosmopolitan second-hand car area of the city, and very close to Fürth, it stands as a brick sentinel over the full parking lots and assorted empty gambling casinos that occupy the flat land area, with the odd row of pre-WW2 houses looking quite out-of-place in a vehicular landscape. Most of these have signs in the window which says ‘Pension Bukarest’ or some such, which tells you all you need, or don’t need, to know, as the case may be, and the words ‘Zimmer frei’ confirm suspicions.

The Pension does not stretch to a lift, nor much by the way of carpet. To meet Sicherheit requirements it has what might be called disabled access, but you would need a block and tackle to get a wheel-chair up the ramp. (Note: you should not book a disabled person into this pension; they will have suffered enough already). One a sunny May evening, the Christmas sign on the frosted glass door says “Welcome”. Two gentlemen of Levantine appearance look at you as you enter, with that inherently wary suspicion of people who run such 1* establishments. To verify that they have a genuine guest, they photocopy your passport. “You have been awarded the ‘Classic’ suite”, they proudly inform you. This, apparently, means that you do not have to share a bathroom. Instead, as one of the two coves explained, “You have your own key to a bathroom which will be your own!” The milk of human kindness knows no bounds, and one was tearful with gratitude.

The bedroom is post-WW2 refurbishment, but with the addition of some dusty artificial flowers. Two pine cots sit untidily along the walls of a garret room which fits the request of “a quiet room at the back” by being above the main road at the front. No one could describe the furnishings as opulent; clearance sales have played a part, as have charity shops. There was a wall-mounted TV, which seemed permanently and immovably tuned to an English-German language course run by a hirsute professor. Alternative entertainment can be provided some evenings by fist-fights outside the fitness centre opposite, which has very muscular Romanians and Bulgarians as members, who do not rub along too well, it seems.

Sleep is not an option. The comings and goings of guests continues until way past 1.00am. At 4.00am the sunshine in the room is bright, the diaphanous wafer-thin deck-chair-striped curtain material being no match for the solar intensity. Two ladies in the next room strike up a conversation. There is no in-room refreshment service, apart from a disused ‘fridge parked in the corner. The time ‘til breakfast hangs heavy.

The bedclothes at the Pension Im Bett almost defy description. Man-made fibres play an important role in their manufacture, and the duvets on the single beds are generous if you (a) are about 5’ tall, and (b) do not move an inch during the night. In all other eventualities, they slide to the floor. The pillows are intriguing – they are amorphous by design, and tedious in use. The aim of supporting the head is lost, but the side-effect of covering the ears is obtained quite well.

Be warned – the Pension sits in a gastronomic wasteland, and has no restaurant. But if you turn left out of the front door, turn right at the casino on your left about 50 yards away, fight off the temptation to join the child-rich income-poor families on social security huddled together in the KFC on your left, steer a flanker past the Japanese restaurant (Nuremberg is MUCH too far from the sea to even begin thinking Japanese) you will come across an Italian restaurant which is so dimly lit that it looks closed. Within you will find, amidst funereal furniture, cheerful staff who might be Turkish, or Polish, who will knock up some amazing cocktails, produce a good Merlot, serve over-generous portions of Italian food cooked by an Italian chef, (recommend the grilled steaks and the chicken, and the pizzas are the size of dustbin lids), so be hungry upon arrival. Enjoy it, for it is the only place in that part of town within walking distance. On the subject of walking, be advised that the area is popular with young second-hand car salesmen taking various models made by Porsche for test drives during the evening hours, to impress their girl-friends.

The hot water supply here is unreliable, cleaning comes pretty well down the list of priorities, and they grossly overcharge for what they offer. This is a 25 Euro place charging 75 Euros, with breakfast and wi-fi extra. One imagines that Lidl are the caterers, so the breakfasts are pretty grim.

The moral of this is review is simple. Book Nuremberg early, and use Trip Advisor. That way a depressing calamity is avoided.

(For the morbidly curious, you will find this place on Bookings.com, accompanied by other reviews which are more complimentary, for example extolling the wonders of the coffee machine by the front entrance. Some people are easily pleased, it would seem.)

Room Tip: No lift, no air/con, no service, probably no en-suite bathroom, so which room you choose is up to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuremberg
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Westend
#107 of 126 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pension Central
Pension Central
#8 of 18 in Fuerth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Nurnberg City
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#10 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nuernberg City West
2.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
B&B Hotel Nuernberg-City
#27 of 126 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Nuernberg City am Plaerrer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Im Bett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Im Bett

Property: Pension Im Bett
Address: Hoefener Str. 87, 90431 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 126 Hotels in Nuremberg
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Im Bett 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Im Bett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing