We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful Pension of great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuremberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein
Ranked #12 of 30 Nuremberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this Pension at rather a last minute - and were so pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. The Pension has been upgraded, rooms compact but suited us fine, sound proof windows, little TV, and gasthof adjacent. Upon arriving rather late in the afternoon, we enjoyed a superb meal at the gasthof, left our luggage and went our to explore Nurnberg. Breakfast was enjoyable, they stored our luggage for us while we visited the Deutsche Museum and the Dokumentation Center - and it was a very good value. Email goes a bit better if you speak some German - but they were all helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Location is great - inside the walled city, close enough to the train station to walk over, deposit...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoli111, Inhaber at Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

What a nice rewiew! Thank you very much! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

This guesthouse turned out to be a good value of money, having a great location, especially for those who plan also to visit by train nearby cities and towns, still it is very close to the city center. I know there are rooms without bathroom, we had kind of the most expensive one and it was quite comfy, even if rather small (except that the bed wasn't double as requested but two single beds put together). The place is very quiet and we had good rest at night (the room faced the yard and the medieval wall). Breakfast is quite modest, but we didn't expect much, the only negative moment - breakfast is only till 9 am, and at times we were simply too tired to have it that early.
Can't say anything of Wi-fi, as strangely, we have never tried it.
We appreciated also small presents left for us in the room, it contributed to our Christmas mood :)
Generally, we've enjoyed it, and would recommend to all who are used to stay in B&B or guesthouses - Schwanlein is a nice place, there's also a restaurant in the ground floor (which can cause some noise heard in the room).

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor (there are rooms also in the 3rd floor), room N3, it's with a bathr...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rainbow_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoli111, Inhaber at Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for taking time for a nice feedback like that! We are very pleased about it! Many thanks! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is situated in the city center, just by the main railway station. Clean with friendly staff.
Because of place is quite noisy but since I am used to travel with earplugs it wasn't really problem. Breakfast are buffet style, with choise of chease and ham and salami, breakfast cereals, jams. Coffe, tea, orange juice, water.

Room Tip: Don't know if rooms to the other side of hotel are bit more quiete ours facet to the Hintere Ste...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moirain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoli111, Inhaber at Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your nice feedback! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Schwaenlein's location coudln't be better but things ended there. the help was somewhat unfriendly. When the Internet didn't work (I asked repeatedly before taking the room if it worked well since I had to have it for my business endeavors there), I just got a shrug and was told the owner was away and unreachable and they couldn't reboot since all the gear was behind a locked door. So the answer was basically, too bad. What a dumb setup!

Guests seem to be more transient -- soccer players in town for a quick game or something -- and ones who perhaps had a couple of extra beers in the rather mediocre restaurant. Therefore the room was noisy due to guests watching TV late at night or talking in the hallway without consideration of others. the doors are thin, the hallways narrow and have low-ceilings so it just seems as if you are on top of each other. Things were basically clean but it did need a bit of sprucing up. I fit fine in the bed but if you were a taller man -- or even just taller than average -- they would be too short.

I would not recommend this for anybody who wants quiet or a really good night's sleep or Internet reliability, but if you just are passing through for a night, it would work out. It is in the city wall's and therefore close to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meTravelinGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoli111, Inhaber at Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

The rooms have been renovated since your last visit by one. The next renovation is scheduled for January / February 2013! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EdPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank bolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasthof-Pension Z, Inhaber at Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 126 in Nuremberg
887 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Garni Probst
Hotel Garni Probst
#36 of 126 in Nuremberg
168 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Adina Apartment Hotel Nuremberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#2 of 126 in Nuremberg
600 reviews
NH Collection Nurnberg City
#11 of 126 in Nuremberg
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof-Pension Zum Schwaenlein

Address: Hintere Sterngasse 11 | Old town, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Nuremberg
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gasthof-Pension "Zum Schwanlein" in Nuremberg Good value Accommodation/Dining in Nurnberg Historic Center! 15 non-smoking room-23 beds-quiet location-3 minutes from the Main train station-good cuisine-nice beer garden. NEW - KABEL-TV IN ALL ROOMS! Absolutely good value for your money! Flat-screen-TV! FREE HIGH SPEED WiFi-INTERNET! Our house is a cozy, family-run guesthouse in the old town of Nurnberg. 2-5 walking minutes from Neues Museum, Handwerkerhof and Germanisches Nationalmuseum etc. All sights including the Market and the Castle as well as shopping facilities nearby. Our restaurant offers both international as well as Franconian and Bohemian specialties and beers daily from 11am - 11pm (Sunday - 10pm). We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! Yours Family Hlatky We are located in the center of the city Nuremberg ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing