We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious local German cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bohm's Herrenkeller

Bohm's Herrenkeller
Ranked #18 of 1,116 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious local German cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant is in a beautiful old building with lots of character (it's 500 years old!). The atmosphere is charming and intimate. The food itself is extremely fresh, authentic and just delicious. My fiancee ordered a tender beef dish which he expressed was one of the best dishes he has ever had, and I ordered a potato souffle (being a vegetarian) which was also absolutely delicious. This restaurant is certainly not one to be missed if you're in Nuremberg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    88
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the few original restaurant of Nuremberg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant because i was using a 1929 Guidebook for nuremberg, yes you read right, i wanted to "feel" the place, so i went to NUremberg for a few weeks with a 1929 guidebook, and this restaurant was listed in iit!!! And of course the building was partially destroyed, as the city was 90% destroyed. The funny thing is, that the guidebook said "Very good food, but plain", and to this day, this stands!! LOL, I liked it, it was good, typical Franconian food, and great atmosphere and service. They speak english - which helped. I highly recmmend it, it is just off Konnig Strasse, easy to find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monsieur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best German dinner.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visited during an exhibition and I was impressed by the excellent food and service.
Ask for German menu and choose something from the suggested course.
I had a fantastic soup and delicious fisch........furthermore I drunk a fanstastic Keller Bier!!!
Finally we finished with an excellent digestive.......Krautiliquor burning served!!!!!
Highly recommended!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sighip
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, atmosphere and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

As per the title, this place is wonderful. Best German food we've had all holiday (really loved the pulled pork leg), and it is an authentic, small & intimate German restaurant. There were mostly locals in it, so you know it has to be good.

Price is very reasonable - approx €20 per person for an appertief, main and beer. Mains by themselves are in the €9-13 range.

If you are looking for real German food in Nuremberg, try here first!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sighip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Frankisches eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just around our hotel, this restaurant has a very good name with a menu of many excellent choices. Not too expensive but well-worth. Reservation recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aydin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bohm's Herrenkeller also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Bohm's Herrenkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing