We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way more then excepted”

Schaeufelewaertschaft
Ranked #65 of 1,133 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Glockenhof
Description: Local inn , 10 minutes walk (or tram stop: Schweiggerstraße) south of the old town of Nuremberg with Frankish coziness and regional cuisine and beverages . The house specialty is the Franconian Schäufele ( roast pork on bones with potato dumpling and gravy ). Other German dishes , delicious salads and vegetarian meals are on the map and change depending on the season . A total of 97 guest seats inside and 36 outside.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Way more then excepted”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

While this restaurant doesn’t look any super and is bit hidden behind the Main train station, it would be a big pity to miss it. I went there with one friend of mine and we were both very surprised how the food in this reasonably priced restaurant tastes. I recommend to make a reservation, because it can be very busy there. However, this fact guarantees always fresh cooked foods.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank DavidN90401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    27
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
198 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My fiancé and I decided to come here for two reasons – the menu and the positive trip advisor reviews.

It’s a little off the beaten track (the opposite side of the Hauptbahnhof to the old town) but not too far to walk. The decor inside is rustic and welcoming. We arrived late in the afternoon and there were only a handful of other diners finishing up their meals. We were informed that there was only one thing left on the menu – pork shoulder – which was lucky as that is exactly what we had in mind. There is only one other item on the menu (schnitzel) which they must of sold out over lunch.

We ordered one large and one small pork leg with a garden salad and cabbage as sides. We didn’t have long to wait before our orders arrived. The pork was cooked perfectly; the meat was tender and melted in our mouths and was very flavoursome! The smaller serving was perfect in size for me, while my fiancé said it was a stretch – but he managed to finish the large portion.
The dumplings that accompanied each shoulder were dense but perfectly cooked, while the gravy was delicious – I tried to ask what was in the gravy – red wine? But the waitress only assured me it wasn’t alcoholic. Our salads were equally generous in size and our taste buds were blissfully happy with the meal in front of us.

This is a great little find, no frills, simple German food (only three main items on the menu) cooked perfectly in hearty portions, with steins of beer & friendly staff; all this for less than 30 Euros (for two of us!) What more could you possibly want??

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good typical Bavarian specialties”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I found the restaurant “Schäufelwärtschaft” here at Trip Advisor and read the postings, so we visited this restaurant and we had a great dinner.
Both we had “Schäufele”, a typical Bavarian food.
It’s a big peace of pork meat from the pork shoulder with a bone. From the form of the bone comes the name “Schäufele”, because the bone looks like a little shovel. It was a very tasty food and both we was satisfied.
The service was very friendly and was able to answer our questions about the food.
There was only one little negativ point at the food: the dumpling wasn’t selfmade, it was a factory dumpling.
If this restaurant would offer self made dumplings in the future the food will be perfect!
But if I will be in Nürnberg next time, I will visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conqueror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just go!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited this restaurant when on holiday in Nuremburg on the basis of reviews on Tripadvisor. We are so glad we did! This was the best meal of our holiday by some distance, and I would walk back to this restaurant from my house if I could. We ate outside in the courtyard on a hot summer night, and just couldn't believe what lovely food we were eating.

There's not much to add to the other positive reviews - it's a nice restaurant, they serve wonderful pork, crackling and dumplings, all washed down with German beer. Service was friendly, if not a bit eccentric, but that all added to the occasion for us. It's a two-stop tram ride from the station so there's no excuse for not going really.

If you like pork and beer, then you really shouldn't consider going anywhere else. And two of us ate for under 30 euros. Brilliant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
“Not the best restaurant in town”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We ate at this restaurant on our second night in town ( on advice of trip advisor # 1 rating ). The food was good but the menu was very limited. You had a choice of pork shoulder (excellent) or schnitzel. The third choice is a small portion of pork shoulder.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank burls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaeufelewaertschaft also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Schaeufelewaertschaft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing