We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place for beer and sausages”

Altstadthof Braeustueberl
Ranked #7 of 1,147 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt - St. Sebald
Zagreb
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for beer and sausages”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

To the title, I wanted to add "in Germany", but no. It's our favorite place, period. My husband and I drive five hundred miles to Nuremberg at least once every year just to drink their perfect beer, and to eat their excellent sausages with potato salad. I have to say that they serve the sausages with cheap prepacked mustard, and for that I almost gave them three instead of five points, but the sausages are so tasty, that they make up for it. We also love to eat their bieramisu, an interesting kind of tiramisu made with beer. It is a bit rich, so one portion is usually enough for both of us. Altstadhof is a very cosy pub, where we love to observe usually very lively bunches of (usually middle-aged) locals. We like the beer and the atmosphere so much that we never go anywhere else in Nuremberg. That might be the shame, but it is how it is.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mighla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    141
    31
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Homemade beers”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Large brewpub very close to Castle. Their beers are nice, you can buy them in brewery shop, along with some beer spirits and other beer products. Food was excellent, staff quick and helpful. Recommended brewery.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent local-made beer”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The pub is at the foot of Nuremberg Castle and it is owned by a historical brewery. It is also possibile to visit the cells where beer and whisky are made and get some taste. Beside the pub there is the shop where beer and whisky are sold. 1 l bottle dark beer costs 4 euro; 200 cc of local-made whisky costs 12 euro. The pub is quite small, so in the afternoon it tend to be crowdy. If you want to sit down at one of the four tables, it is advised to reserve. Food are nor cheap neither good to dine in, but beer (expecially the dark one) taste wonderful. Nice and helpful staff

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piergiorgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Micro-brewery worth checking, but keep expectations low”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went here only for the drinks, so I cannot comment the food in any way. The in-house brewery offers red beer as a speciality (with several other variants, too). I had quite high expectations for the beer and was a bit disappointed in the end. It wasn't bad, but slightly light on taste. The service took a while, but since we had time, that wasn't a problem in itself. If you're around, drop in for one.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjobec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altstadthof Braeustueberl also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Altstadthof Braeustueberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing