We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A gem in Allstadt - family run - great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garni Probst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Probst
Ranked #31 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A gem in Allstadt - family run - great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a wonderful family run boutique hotel!. There must be 4 generations working very hard to run their business.

We took the bus to Nuremberg from Prague - it stops right in front of the train station and Garni Probst is about 2 blocks on the all pedestrian Allstadt (Old Town).

My german is very little, and all at the hotel have very good English.
I was surprised at how spacious our room was for the price - couch - table - ample dressing area. Comes with a hair dryer (a must) and wifi is 5 Euro. . . . we had a small hiccup with the way a newer tablet connects and Suzanne fixed the problem immediately.

Some said the breakfast was small - they must not have looked very hard! You are asked if you would like one or two soft boiled eggs made on the spot for you, meat, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, juices - and . . . tada! A POT of coffee at your table - not a cup! KUDOS!

The hotel is safe and secure and I plan on coming back!

Room Tip: Wifi charge is password secured for only ONE device (if you have more than one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    55
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
59
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,627 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

A straightforward, slightly old-fashioned hotel in the centre of town, a couple of hundred yards from the train station, with exceptionally kindly and helpful owners.

Bed comfortable, breakfast excellent, price very reasonable. If ever I go back to Nuremberg I'll stay at the Garni Probst again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel is one of very rare where I haven't found a single fault! Being a very frequent traveler, I can say it was an amazing stay and I definetely recomenda and will come back again!
We were lucky to get a room since times of fair can get very busy, last room in the city. It was a beautiful renovated room, nice warm bathrooom. Breakfast selection was one of the best. Many variery and even fresh fruit and tomatoes,gat coffee and fresh bread.
Parking is available in 200m distanced garage fo 10€/24hrs (purchased at hotel!). Location is top, citycentre and very quiet. Sleep quality is excelent!
Reception and other staff are exceptionaly nice and with a great sense of humor.

Room Tip: Ask for inner side rooms, they look on to the courtyard and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MancaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We found it to be newly renovated, friendly, and everything that we needed during our stay in Nuremberg. Our room was quite large, had abeautifully renovated bathroom, was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom did not have a hairdryer, but we were able to borrow one from the hotel office. We loved the location that was so close to the train station...just steps away. It was a great location for everything that we did in the city. The breakfast was ample and the family who owned the hotel were very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelers071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this is a small, family run hotel, and should be considered in this context. Firstly, everyone who worked in the hotel was extremely friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. However, this can't take away from the fact that our room looked pretty tired, run down and worn, and had obviously seen better days. Same can be said for the bathroom which was equally shabby.

Our room looked out on the street below, which as others have pointed out contains a couple of bars and some sex shops / strip clubs. Problems arose when we were woken each night by people exiting these establishments (we stayed Saturday night and Sunday night) which was not great.

Location is ok - close to the train station and about a 10 minute walk through the town centre to the old town.

All in all, we had an ok stay and it was acceptable for our needs given the price we paid (60 euros per night). That said, we would probably look elsewhere should we return to Nuremburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of days. It's a family-run business and you can tell... They're not overly professional, but trying their best to be helpful. Considering the rather low price, it's not a terrible place, but could be so much better. The "reception area" is not welcoming at all, seems more like a set for an 80s revival movie.

Don't expect too much from breakfast. There's a very nice café across the street, though. Some rooms have been renovated, others are very tired and in need of renovation...like our room. It reeked of cigarettes and was very small. When we asked for a different room, we were shown a slightly nicer room, but not nice enough to actually warrant a move. Too bad.

Location is very convenient inside the city walls, everything can be done by foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optimusprime74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melnik, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this nice and cosy hotel for just 1 night and we loved it there.
The family Probst is really very nice, friendly and hearty!
I will surely be coming back to this hotel whenever I'll return to Nuremberg
The location is great, since it's very close to Nuremberg's HBF (Train, Bus, Tram) station besides being also very close to the city center and its multiple shops.
The breakfast was also very good for the overall price we paid. Of course in some other places where you'll pay more, maybe the breakfast buffet will have more variety.
Notes: We didn't go there by car, so I can't say much about how it's with car parking. We also didn't need Internet so we're unaware about Wi-Fi availability/pricing(if any)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto-Lopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
Ibis Nuernberg Altstadt
#12 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#21 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gideon Hotel
#44 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#4 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Hotel Am Jakobsmarkt
#46 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Probst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Probst

Property: Hotel Garni Probst
Address: Luitpoldstr. 9, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Garni Probst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Garni Probst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing