We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening”

Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof
Ranked #97 of 3,793 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $298
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The panoramic view over Karlsplatz Stachus square is unrivalled, and simply entering the Königshof Gourmet Restaurant and sensing its atmosphere is already a delight of anticipation for the refined palate: beautiful wood panelling on the walls, silk and velvet fabrics in the finest of colour nuances, all rounded off by the quiet but tireless footfalls of the attentive service team. The Königshof Gourmet Restaurant, rated with one Michelin Star and 18 Points at Gault Millau, spirits you far away from the travails of the day. Our guests here savour a culinary revelation of the highest standard. Chef de Cuisine Martin Fauster and his team craft your dining experience with a dedication that caters to even the smallest of wishes – from selecting and preparing the dishes, to their serving. Allow them to enchant you with exciting aromas and French charm, with fish pan-seared for no more than a moment and creations of ostensible purism, with main courses presented so as to also be a feast for the eyes and with sweet surprises that add yet another mouth-watering facet to the delicacies that preceded them. The service team in the Königshof Gourmet Restaurant are masters in the art of presenting the specialities from the kitchen. Restaurant Manager Simon Adam assures a perfect balance between attentiveness and restraint, while sommelier Stéphane Thuriot knows exactly how to enrich cuisine with just the right wines.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Everything went very smoothly for our party of ten, from my initial contact with the restaurant to make the reservation weeks before all the way through the meal itself. The securing of the reservation and the menu selection was made simple and was all done by email. Each course was perfectly presented and delicious, and the wine pairings were well enjoyed. The restaurant is conveniently located in the center of the city and offers large windows with beautiful views. Very friendly and professional staff, beautiful food and wine--it's not inexpensive, but I say worth every penny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Sheri77,
Thank you for lauding words. It is wonderful to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant and that we could delight you with our service during the reservation process as well as on the evening itself. Happily I will pass your compliments on to our team.
The next time you are in town we hope to welcoming you back and remain with best regards from Munich
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Gourmet Restaurant Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 208 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

Ok so first I have to say that if you are not prepared to spend money do NOT go here. However,that having been said,it's amazing. We are a family of 4 adults and we wanted one amazing culinary experience on our vacation. This was it!

We arrived on time for our 8 pm reservation and were greeted with our names,,,,"welcome, you must be e moorefamily"..... Very cool.althoughwe were seated at a corner table,it was still just fine. We had at least 3 different servers during the nite,with white gloves too!!!

If you go here you have to be open minded about the food. I ate things I NEVER would have tried at home! We had fried sadines, beef tongue,sweetbreads,venison,quail,squid pate and other stuff and we enjoyed every course. We had bread and also wine paired with each course and dessert. Total US cost for 4 was 1100 USA bucks including tip. Lol. Crazy but an experience of a lifetime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rochelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Rochelle m, thank you for your lauding words. It was a pleasure for us having you and your family as guest and we are very pleased that we could delight you with our service and culinary selection. Wonderful that we could encourage you to try some extraordinary dishes. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you and your family again. With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and team of the Gourmet Restaurant Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Pretty much went to eat here every night! It's a wonderful restaurant! The staff is dressed very nice as they should, the food is spectacular, and the atmosphere is comforting and inviting yet very sophisticated and enjoyable. Just like the hotel, it's a great place to check out while you're in Munich!

1  Thank MikeH057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear MikeH057, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased that we could inspire you with our food selection, service and the ambience of our restaurant. It is great that you also stayed in our hotel Königshof and enjoyed your stay as well. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again. With best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel in Munich
Good rooms with all you need free espresso and much more
Restaurant on of the best for breakfast or dinner
Staff 10 star like a dream

4  Thank Ofer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been to Königshof a couple of times in recent months. Centrally located, easy to get to.
Elegant Dining room, a bit like a French chateau. Distance between tables is convenient, equally good for Business purposes as for private romance.
We normally select the 4-course menu. it is truly outstanding, when compared to other Michelin-starred restos we would rather feel 2 stars than just one. The Quality of produce is fantastic in freshness according to season and in natural taste. The sauces and preparation style round up the overall Impression sucessfully. We do not choose the pre-arreanged wine setting, as we understand enough ourselves about wine. We rather pick out of the wine list 2 to 3 positions to discuss and find out the best one with the Sommelier.
Service is very good and helpful, always present but never urging. This is also true for the Sommelier.
The Business is owned by the Geisel-family. They own vineyards as well- and well, this is the only advise by the staff you should NOT follow: their German wines are on the sour and thin side.
Other than this little remark: go and simply enjoy Chef Fauster and the Service Crew.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gourmet Restaurant Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing