We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Experience”
Review of Gasthaus Isarthor

Gasthaus Isarthor
Ranked #304 of 3,724 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Local Experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We found this walking from our hotel to the Marienplatz. ONLY TAKES CASH! Everyone was so nice, even with the language barrier! The staff was helpful and they have an English menu. I had sausage and brautwurst- excellent choice with hearty portions! Great German beer, a fun first Munich experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam-Margaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    12
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bavarian pub dinner”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Great place to experience at least once in a life time for the traditional Bavarian beer house. It is like in the movie. Of course be prepared that u are not the main actor but service is efficient. Great food. Great beer. Been there,done that,tick. Tips: don't just sit down on any table, usually the tables at the entry are for non- regulars.

Helpful?
Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Munich”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This review is long overdue. I've been to Isarthor several times over the past three years and it's always fantastic. There's nothing fancy going on here - just excellent traditional German fare with generous portions. There are hardly any tourists in here (with the exception of my recent visit where I sat next to an American student who was an embarrassment to himself and our fellow Americans). You can't go wrong with anything on the menu and the service is always excellent. Let everyone else go to the HB trap and the Rathskeller - I'll head here every night I'm able when in Munich.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassVetRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kasespatzle was to die for!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is an awesome dinner spot away from the touristy areas. You can tell the locals love this place and enjoy keeping it quiet. The food/bier here was amazing. The one bad thing is the service was not very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diningindixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
181 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gemmy”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

One would not expect to find such a traditional and reasonably priced Bavarian inn in the center of Munich. They serve "Augustiner" beer on tap which, in my opinion, is the best Bavarian beer. Their menu offers traditional Bavarian dishes and is complemented by a weekly changing menu using seasonal products. Unfortunately, the service is, every single time, on the verge to being bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Isarthor also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gasthaus Isarthor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing