We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Formal setting with good hearty fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halali

Halali
Ranked #203 of 3,678 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Formal setting with good hearty fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The setting of this restaurant was a little more formal than we expected and several tables were occupied by business diners. The layout was good with plenty of space between the tables. The menu offered a good choice of meat and seafood. Our main dishes were a good - steak cooked as requested and a grilled seafood selection. There was an extensive wine list with a range of prices. Our only gripe was that we asked for tap water and were brought bottled still water and billed €7 for it later. There is no excuse for not serving tap water to customers and this did spoil our experience a little which is a shame given the ambience of the dining room and quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant serving German food. The food was amazing, the Truffle Spaghetti were divine, the venison was perfectly done and the seafood incredibly tasty. I would also recommend the desserts, have the one with taster portions of all so you don`t miss out on anything. The wine list is well selected, the service was very friendly and attentive. Really a must-try for a special dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannaTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Simply stated: The Halali provides an outstanding dining experience at reasonable prices. The menu changes frequently and has a good selection of meat, game and fish dishes. We have dined at the Halali 3 times in the past 2 months, and each time, the food was superb. Impeccable, friendly service. The lunch menu - 3 courses at € 25.00 - is an absolute bargain. Highly recommended for special occasion dining. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank inbavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Service, Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food, Service, Atmosphere. Food is fantastic. Service is very nice. abit expensive but worth to try!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to a dinner gathering with 2 of our Bavarian friends early this year. I have to say, during my stay in Munich this time Halali definitely made one of the highlight for my New Year celebration.

The restaurant had traditional interior yet posh decor, good lighting in the main dining room, maybe it was a bit too sharp for my own taste, it would be nicer if the light was dimmed down a bit throughout later the night.

Staffs are efficient and attentive, sommelier is knowledgeable and has great understanding of how to serve the wine in the proper manner, not to over chilled the white and carried out the decantation service accordingly for the red.

Truffle and Lobster, they were the highlights for my meal. The ingredients could not lie nor hide, fresh, fresh, the freshest and the best ingredients do not need to be manipulated too much by the chef! That was what HALALI showed you on the plate, actually on all the plates.

If you are happened to be in one of the most amazing city in Germany, pay a visit in Halali for some quality Bavarian fine food and fine dining experiences.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CG0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halali also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Halali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing