We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai in Munich...YUM”
Review of Ruen Thai

Ruen Thai
Ranked #441 of 3,770 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thai in Munich...YUM”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a 15 minute cab from the Kempinski, but well worth it for some delicious Thai food and a warm and caring owner and staff made for a wonderful evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank trooonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Bland, and doesn't seem very Thai”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place is nicely decorated, and the staff are friendly, but that's about all it has going for it.

Maybe I don't know what authentic thai is, but this didn't seem like any Thai I've ever had. The menu didn't even offer the same kind of Thai food that I've ever had. Either way, the noodles I had were bland (9€).

The lunch menu comes with either soup or fried wontons. I went for the soup because it was cold out. It was alright, but before it came, a different waiter mistakenly brought the fried wontons to me, and they looked good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redningja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not real authentic thai food”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

go to this thai restaurant, but the food I eat was more like indonesian food not thai food, I know how thai food taste because stay in thailand many years. This is not thai food! nd super expensive!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeodeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've spent ages trying to find a decent authentic Thai restaurant in Munich, and after eating here our search will go on. The standard was very poor - none of the real tastes of authentic Thai food, it was obviously "toned down" for European tastes, ie made bland. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and friendly service”
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Had a yummy dinner here. Small, cozy place with a nice romantic atmosphere. Very attentive and friendly staff who spoke English in addition to German. Good menu variety, large portions, and pretty authentic for Thai food in the middle of Bavaria!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndmalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ruen Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing