We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More touristy but still tasty”
Review of Ratskeller Munchen

Ratskeller Munchen
Ranked #36 of 3,703 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $56
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is located in the very heart of Germany´s secret capital - the Marienplatz of Munich. There is no way you will get more down-town, since the Ratskeller is located in the cellar of the new town hall - built in the late 19th century... There are few places where you get to see more history while enjoying some of Munich´s best traditional dishes... We certainly do offer vegan and vegetarian meals, too. Approx. 20% of our menu consists of meat-free food. We really hope to see you here soon!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“More touristy but still tasty”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Right on the main square so definitely one of the higher priced, more touristy places. It is beautiful inside but lacks the authentic beer house atmosphere and is more posh restaurant. The service is brilliant though. Complimentary pretzels and quick service. They have a great choice of local beers and wines.
We tried the Oktoberfest platter which was a delicious lunchtime snack, and also had a small portion of nurnberg sausages. There sauerkraut which really tasty.
A little more expensive but worth it for the nice service and relaxed but posh atmosphere inside. Perfect for a nice meal as a couple or a good dinner out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BecBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,384
    1,483
    418
    122
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An old favourite disappoints”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have eaten here several times on previous visits to Muncih and been very satisfied with the standard of cooking and the atmosphere in the subteranean restaurant under the new town hall. We ate here again last night and were severely disappointed on all fronts. We were given a table in the wine cellar part, which severly lacked any atmoshpere and completely missed the cosy ambience of the larger hall. The menu was limited and the food poor value for the price. The venison portion I had was rather small for 26.50 Euro and the dish came incomplete, missing the bread dumpling, which, when it came, was rather dry and tasteless. Another dish we tried, a potato pancake with stewed pear was also rather unappetising: the pear was not ripe and not cooked! Really not good enough this time round.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Der_Reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Busy, but Good Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our tour group dined here one evening during our stay in Munich. Since we only had two choices from a pre-set menu, I can't really review the regular menu choices. The serving staff was good, but could not be overly attentive due to the size of the crowd that evening. I did enjoy my pig knuckle selection, however.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“my last dinner in Munich”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

we found this by chance before going to airport. we saw a menu and went downstair, a waiter was about to ask us to go make registration in reception. Yet, a waitress was so nice to settle us, we ordered salad, Salmon Filet, Rid eye. A hot pan placed under the Risotto and Rid eye to keep them warm! When we went to bathroom and found that it is a big restaurant and with a lot of people waiting for the seats~
well, we were lucky to meet that waitress otherwise we cannot wait for so long~

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxkoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Central Location, Average Meal, poor service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had the cheaper of the lunchtime fixed price meal, 3 courses and a drink or aperitif, 2 courses and a drink. We opted for the later: a small glass of sekt, a coffee cup of soup (tasty but v. small portion) and portion of fried onion, potato and salsify (we finally identified this as we had never heard of it before) topped with a fried egg. The soup cup was whisked away with indecent haste and the main brought very quickly after. We had to remind the waiter about the included beer and had almost finished our main before it arrived.
This wasn't the great value fixed price lunch menu we have experienced on our travels in Germany before; it wasn't particularly expensive but the portion size was small so not great value. It was overall the most disappointing meal and worst service we had on our 3 day visit to the Munich Christmas markets

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky13s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ratskeller Munchen also viewed

 

Been to Ratskeller Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing