We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looong wait for (almost) nothing”

Pfalzer Residenz Weinstube
Ranked #385 of 3,770 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looong wait for (almost) nothing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The restaurant extends over two levels. Downstairs is very loud with large rustic tables. Upstairs is a bit more palatable to the eye but suffers from poor accoustics (also loud). Prices are very reasonable but you get what you pay for. Service is unreliable - if your lucky your order will arrive quickly at your table. If not you can wait for a long time. We tried their speciality - Flammkuchen which is allright but not really satisfying as a full meal. We had to order an extra dish - fried chicken (hendl) was out - so we ordered a bratwurst with bretzl. Bratwurst arrived half an hour too late without bretzl. Bretzl arrived after we had finished our meal. The restaurant was only half full. Needless to say we didnt tip the waiter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    100
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, traditional food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stopped here for lunch after touring the Residenz and found it to be a pretty typical Bavarian restaurant. The wine selection was excellent, of course, and the menu was varied and priced quite reasonably. They do take credit cards, which is not the case for many restaurants in Germany, but the tip, if you leave one, is requested in cash. I had the flammkuchen, which was good but not the best I've had--it's like a very thin-crusted pizza with a cream instead of tomato sauce--and friends had the schnitzel, which was excellent. Worth stopping in for an authentic experience. Service was a bit faster and friendlier than typical European standard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eat as the locals eat”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Given the grand setting of the restaurant's location we expected something rather posh and expensive. What a surprise - a pleasant one though.
Everywhere was busy with the Christmas Markets and we were lucky to quickly find a space at one of the bench tables. This was true communal eating Bavarian style and an experience not to be missed. The food was very simple and plentiful served by traditionally dressed waitresses in an efficient and friendly way.
The cost for two of us to have a plateful of lovely food and a mug of Gluhwein was less than €23.
Half what you might pay in the city centre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been here twice, once to have drinks outside in the spring. They have a very impressive area in the back that shows off munich's archeticture and once last week with out of town friends,weather was bad so we had to skip the courtyard but the inside is beautiful, the service was great and so was the food. Keep in mind this is Bavaria, everything will be hearty if your sticking to traditional standards. This is the only winestube in Munich that does not serve beer. Only wine....and the have an extensive wine list! It was a thursday night and we were leaving around 11 to catch the train and people were just walking intel door, so I imagine they stay open late. Though it is very close to the touristy area it was clear were were surronded by dedicated guests and we were the only English speakers. Both me and my friends really enjoyed our time there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKStylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“German Wine at its Best”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A great location just near Odeonsplatz, opposite the Ferdherenhalle. Inside is a lovely vaulted room, cool and bustling, outside a superb courtyard in the main Residenz building. It has all that you would expect of e good Munich establishment and a great wine list of the regional wines. The staff are also very happy to talk you through the options.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank UKRegulartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfalzer Residenz Weinstube also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Pfalzer Residenz Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing