We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seehaus

Seehaus
Ranked #10 of 65 Dessert in Munich
Price range: $22 - $43
Cuisines: German, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant Seehaus in the English Garden lies at a picture-perfect location directly on the banks of the Kleinhesseloher Lake. It has been in the portfolio of Kuffler's since 1985. Every guest will be delighted to find his own favourite corner in the diversified atmosphere of the rooms presented at the Restaurant Seehaus. The spacious versatile pavilion caters for all guests' requirements. Enjoy breakfast on the border of the lake, and in the afternoon home-made cakes and tarts wait to be served. And in the evening the Pavilion dresses up for cocktails and dinners, for weddings and birthday parties. The bright restaurant offers its guests a pleasant privacy with its niches and round arches. Bright wood and large-scale photos from cattle returning back down to the villages from the mountain pastures brighten up the Bayerisches Stuberl featuring a typical, stylish tiled stove. Under the roof a pure high banquet room was created. It can be optionally used as conference room, ball room, Ladies Lunch Location, just to mention a few of the options - it is beautiful and exquisite at all times. The Seehaus is surrounded by spacious terraces and the beer garden known for its Mediterranean flair. In the kitchen our Chef de Cuisine Christian Muller offers not only classic dishes with a modern touch, but also Mediterranean fish cuisine. Seasonal, regional, home-made.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location, location !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Beautifully located in the heart of the English garden, excellent restaurant with different rooms and gorgeous terraces. We were there with a wedding party and for that it was the absolute perfect spot, very romantic setting on a summer evening. Food was excellent !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dezzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear dezzyB, thank you very much for your friendly comment and recommendation. Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    185
    80
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was showing some visitors around the English Gardens, enjoying a sunny June day, when our walk took us to the Seehaus. It is located on the shore of a very pretty lake in the English Gardens (Lake in German is "See," thus the name).

My companions wanted to go out on the lake for a while, so we rented a pedal paddle boat and took a leisurely turn around the lake. Afterward they wanted a beer, so we went to the Seehaus Biergarten for a mug of beer each. Sitting back and enjoying the Munich beer, we agreed that the view made this the prettiest Biergarten in Munich!

The beer was good, the service unremarkable (like many Biergaerten, one got ones own beer), but the view and location are superb! The beer costs a bit more than in most Biergaerten, but as they say "location, location, location".

We had heard some mixed reviews of the restaurant, so we decided to eat later, but I can certainly say it was a very enjoyable afternoon sitting by the lake quaffing beer at this gorgeous Biergarten.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Don T, thank you very much for taking your time to leave your friendly review here on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you had such a pleasant stay, that you rewarded us by making us "the prettiest Biergarten in Munich!" Thank you! Maybe you will consider visiting our restaurant in the colder season - we are sure you will not regret. Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
210 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant in the midst of the Englisher Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were wandering around the Englisher Garden on a lovely, rainy day in May. We knew the Seehaus restaurant was in there but we did not know specifically where. There was not a lot of signage so we just walked around until we happened upon a building. There it was! We went in for a pause and a beer. The waitstaff did not speak too much English and my garbled German from childhood is appalling. But, we ordered a beer and sat in comfort. We could see that there was an extensive outside area but it was not the kind of day for that. We got a kick out of a large group of friends eating dinner with their dog waiting for them. We enjoy seeing dogs in Europe. In the US, people would be offended! We asked one waiter if he could show us on the map where we were. He ran and got another waiter who could understand us better. Sure enough, he pointed out the location on our map and we headed off. Although we only stopped for ein bier, the waitstaff was lovely to us, the restaurant was comfortable, and the rest rooms were clean. We headed off to find a bus stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear "lynclarke", thank you very much for your kind words. It must be like Murphy's law - most of our staff speak very good english - your waiter did not. We are glad that he found a way to meet up to your expectations. We hope that we can serve you on a sunny day - the English Garden is a real treat in summer . . . and so is our Biergarten ;) . Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Currywurst”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a currywurst. Outside can be a little windy. It is definitely a place to go. I loved the Paulaner too, also good for a hot coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Rafael M, thank you for feedback. Please come back on a sunny day - we are sure you will love the Biergarten. Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We went here because we want to try beer garten. Don waste your time. Food is horrible. Service is terrible and over price. It was full of people so we thought it was good. Noooooo. After we eat, laughing like crazy because it was really bad, we saw that everyone was only asking ice cream or coffee. The view of the lake are beautiful. If you go, just ask for coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Leon005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear "Elen77", thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately it is not quite clear, if you visited our restaurant or our beer garden next to the restaurant. In either case, we are very sorry that we cannot meet up to your expectations.
Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seehaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Seehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing