We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely restaurant in the midst of the Englisher Garden”
Review of Seehaus

Seehaus
Ranked #10 of 65 Dessert in Munich
Price range: $23 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Seehaus in the English Garden lies at a picture-perfect location directly on the banks of the Kleinhesseloher Lake. It has been in the portfolio of Kuffler's since 1985. Every guest will be delighted to find his own favourite corner in the diversified atmosphere of the rooms presented at the Restaurant Seehaus. The spacious versatile pavilion caters for all guests' requirements. Enjoy breakfast on the border of the lake, and in the afternoon home-made cakes and tarts wait to be served. And in the evening the Pavilion dresses up for cocktails and dinners, for weddings and birthday parties. The bright restaurant offers its guests a pleasant privacy with its niches and round arches. Bright wood and large-scale photos from cattle returning back down to the villages from the mountain pastures brighten up the Bayerisches Stuberl featuring a typical, stylish tiled stove. Under the roof a pure high banquet room was created. It can be optionally used as conference room, ball room, Ladies Lunch Location, just to mention a few of the options - it is beautiful and exquisite at all times. The Seehaus is surrounded by spacious terraces and the beer garden known for its Mediterranean flair. In the kitchen our Chef de Cuisine Christian Muller offers not only classic dishes with a modern touch, but also Mediterranean fish cuisine. Seasonal, regional, home-made.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant in the midst of the Englisher Garden”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were wandering around the Englisher Garden on a lovely, rainy day in May. We knew the Seehaus restaurant was in there but we did not know specifically where. There was not a lot of signage so we just walked around until we happened upon a building. There it was! We went in for a pause and a beer. The waitstaff did not speak too much English and my garbled German from childhood is appalling. But, we ordered a beer and sat in comfort. We could see that there was an extensive outside area but it was not the kind of day for that. We got a kick out of a large group of friends eating dinner with their dog waiting for them. We enjoy seeing dogs in Europe. In the US, people would be offended! We asked one waiter if he could show us on the map where we were. He ran and got another waiter who could understand us better. Sure enough, he pointed out the location on our map and we headed off. Although we only stopped for ein bier, the waitstaff was lovely to us, the restaurant was comfortable, and the rest rooms were clean. We headed off to find a bus stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear "lynclarke", thank you very much for your kind words. It must be like Murphy's law - most of our staff speak very good english - your waiter did not. We are glad that he found a way to meet up to your expectations. We hope that we can serve you on a sunny day - the English Garden is a real treat in summer . . . and so is our Biergarten ;) . Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    202
    86
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Currywurst”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a currywurst. Outside can be a little windy. It is definitely a place to go. I loved the Paulaner too, also good for a hot coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Rafael M, thank you for feedback. Please come back on a sunny day - we are sure you will love the Biergarten. Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money ”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We went here because we want to try beer garten. Don waste your time. Food is horrible. Service is terrible and over price. It was full of people so we thought it was good. Noooooo. After we eat, laughing like crazy because it was really bad, we saw that everyone was only asking ice cream or coffee. The view of the lake are beautiful. If you go, just ask for coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Leon005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear "Elen77", thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately it is not quite clear, if you visited our restaurant or our beer garden next to the restaurant. In either case, we are very sorry that we cannot meet up to your expectations.
Best wishes from the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Selfservice in expensive restaurant”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Last week we booked a table for 6 in the famous Seehaus, Munich. Restaurant is located in the beautiful English gardens and is supposed to be 'a high quality for a high price'.
Our reservation was confirmed upon arrival, however we were asked to help in putting the 2 tables together in order to accommodate 6 persons. The restaurant was 30% full, still we waited 40 min till we get the Card and another 20min to get the first service. At the neighboring table, one of the guests was serving wine himself to a group of 10 people, as there is nowhere to be seen any waiter. As one of us ordered half portion, was first informed that will not get a salad and this attitude for main course price starting with 20Euro!!!!
At the end there was no one to order a taxi for us. When we found a waiter , was advised to go and find a taxi outside on our own.
We will never visit this restaurant again.
Don't recommend it to people who like high quality service to be received for high prices of average quality food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank illieva_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst service disgusted!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The wait staff here were by far the worst staff we have encountered in Germany! Our waiter was so rude arrogant and disgusting! Firstly no cutlery was given even after our food arrived-I had to get it myself. Food was cold to lukewarm at most!
We ordered an expensive bottle of French wine and noticed we were given a cheap German wine instead. After mentioning this to our waiter who said he will check he avoided us completely never came back!
I believe they substituted it for German wine because they didn't have the French one and charged us full price!
Our entrees didn't come out together-My soup entree came out alone whilst my husbands natural oysters we had to wait 15 minutes for-by which time my soup was stone cold!
Food was very average but the biggest disaster was the humiliation from our waiter!
He started talking to his other wait staff colleagues telling them we didn't tip him then abused us because we didn't leave a tip!
How dare he! The service was so bad we were not going to tip him.
Tips are not compulsory and definitely when our food was cold, served very slowly and separately. No cutlery -I had to get it myself. To finish it off we were 'ripped off' with wine which they pretended not to notice.
The final straw was when we asked to please move inside for coffee they stuck us in the kiosk area where customers come for cake. You would think after spending 150 euros on lunch we could sit in the elegant indoor area!
What a rude disgraceful man we had to deal with. Get rid of him if u want to salvage any sort if reputation!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BabyBaldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear "BabyBaldan", thank you very much for sending the information needed to get to the bottom of this. As stated in our messages to you, we truly apologize for any irritations caused. An obvious language barrier seemed to be (part of) the problem. After talking to the service staff, present that day, we can assure you that you paid for the wine you ordered and drank only. There is no use in getting into further details now, as it is just too bad that we did not have the chance to react when you were our guest. It would have been your waiter’s duty to inform us right away. Now we have no more possibilities than to, again, express our true apology for your experience and to send our best wishes from the the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seehaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Seehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing