We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Munich
Post
Inbox
Search

“A Munich Tradition”

Muenchner Suppenkueche
Ranked #1 of 54 Quick Bites in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Best soup in town! We offer a broad selection of soup and stews. Try our famous Gulash-Soup with beef or Bavarian Liver Dumpling Soup. Vegetarians will find their soop as well.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This a great place in the middle of the Viktualenmarkt. It sells bowls of soup with your choice of bread or a kaiser roll. There is a wide variety of soups daily- anything from Thai curried chicken to goulash to chili. In winter they have an enclosed area- it gets quite crowded and table sharing is the norm. In warmer weather, you can eat at one of the outside tables. The soup is good and filling, the portions are ample, the bread and rolls are excellent. It's a good place to grab a quick hot lunch.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 372 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2019

This is the original Muenchner Suppenkueche (Soup Kitchen) in Viktualienmarkt, a popular casual eatery with several branches around the city of Munich. Opening hours are 10am to 6pm daily (closed on Sundays).

We had a great lunch here during a previous trip to Munich and decided to revisit during a recent stay in the city. This is a neat place to have timely served, delicious soups.

On this occasion, we ordered the Carrot, Coconut & Ginger soup as well as a bowl of chili con carne, both were very tasty. You can order bread as well to help mop up the good soup. Meal was good enough that we decided to try their branch along Sendlinger Strasse a few days later when we passed by.

Note: You'll most likely find a queue when you arrive. Menu out front is in German. However, there is another menu on the pillar in the shop that is in English. You can order at the counter in English as well. You pay and they serve immediately. Then try to find a place to sit or stand and enjoy your hot soups - just perfect on cold winter days. Its great, hard to imagine someone eating here and not enjoying what is served.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank BradJill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019 via mobile

I had the fish soup. 5€ and delish. Also sat beside some very nice locals and had a wonderful conversation.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank love2travelwithphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

Visited for lunch on a rainy day. I almost left because there was a line and it looked like limited seating, but glad I exerted a little patience. The line moves quickly and people quickly had their soup, freeing up spaces to sit. Even though the menu is all in German, the staff speaks English. But I did feel pressure to keep the line moving quickly - you give your order, including whether you want to add bread (small charge), then they hand you your food which you load on to a tray in front of you. You can put utensils and napkins on the tray in the 5 seconds between paying and getting your food.

I ordered goulash with bread. Both were very tasty and filling. It’s a great deal in a touristy area. There were also lighter options, including a few vegetarian soups. I will definitely come back.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank gayleo817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019 via mobile

Lovely hearty lunch
Home cooked
Full of locals
In the centre of the market
Lots of flavours
Goulash was v v nice

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank steveem7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muenchner Suppenkueche also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Muenchner Suppenkueche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing