We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly restaurant with great food speaking French, English and German” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rue des Halles

Rue des Halles
Ranked #606 of 3,543 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $54
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Rue des Halles is the oldest French restaurant in Munich. It opened in January 1983. In May 2005 the restaurant underwent a complete renovation, resulting in its conversion into a typical Parisian style brasserie. Dishes à la carte – 3 course introductory menu to French food for 22.50 EUR (changes every week) – 3 course menu à la carte (which you put together yourself) for 37 EUR with Trou Normand (homemade apple sorbet with calvados) included – 4 course surprise menu (put together by the head cook) for 52 EUR with Trou Normand and aperitif included.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant with great food speaking French, English and German”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate at the restaurant tonight. With 4 of us, 2 got the Prix Fix menu ($22.50euros for 3 courses) and 2 of us got soup and entree salad with dessert. Everything was tasty. I really enjoyed the lobster bisque, but dessert lacked a little. Overall great place and I would definitely eat there again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CJnNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in Munich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you enjoy "good French cuisine" in a typical French atmosphere, Rue de Halles is the restaurant to visit while in Munich. The staff, service, food are all excellent! My husband and I will definitely visit again when in town. Very nice dinner experience - strongly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePowerofLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food, wine and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are looking for a good French experience in Munich, I really recommend this place. Very good food, wine and service in a very nice typical French atmosphere. I will definitely go there again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK South West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food but the service may be little slow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food here is very good, we were a group of 10, which was probably one of the reasons why the service was a little slower than you'd expect, we arrived at 8pm and left after 11pm, however this worked for us as we were having so much fun. The group had a selection of different courses from the menu and everyone was really pleased with what they were served. The fish platters are superb, if there are a few of you then I'd highly recommend having a platter in the middle of the table. I would definitely go back and would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtjwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Always great food and service. Have been going for about 10 years or more, just once a year, but the waitress used to always remeber us, she was great. Dont think it is the same person now though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue des Halles also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Rue des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing