We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rue des Halles

Rue des Halles
Ranked #542 of 3,435 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $55
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Rue des Halles is the oldest French restaurant in Munich. It opened in January 1983. In May 2005 the restaurant underwent a complete renovation, resulting in its conversion into a typical Parisian style brasserie. Dishes à la carte – 3 course introductory menu to French food for 22.50 EUR (changes every week) – 3 course menu à la carte (which you put together yourself) for 37 EUR with Trou Normand (homemade apple sorbet with calvados) included – 4 course surprise menu (put together by the head cook) for 52 EUR with Trou Normand and aperitif included.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had our best meal in Munich here. Everything was very good indeed, and the service excellent. A pity they didn't have their chocolate mousse, which our guide book recommended strongly. For fine food, Rue des Halles is a great place to go but it's expensive - you end up paying twice as much (around 100 euros for two) as you would for a filling meal in one of the bierkellers, which also have more atmosphere. We agreed that if we go again - which we probably will given the city's attractions - we'll go to the bierkellers. My wife doesn't eat meat but had no problem finding very satisfying main courses there.

Helpful?
Thank NJH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent food and great service, with a French flair.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Forehandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

On a short break away to Munich, my partner and I decided we wanted to eat at a French restaurant, and asked our concierge to recommend and book us somewhere nice. He could not have chosen a better place. The food was exquisite, the service polite, attentive and friendly, the venue itself spacious, not claustrophobic, and tastefully decorated. I opted for the goats cheese in pastry for a starter which was beautiful, very tasty. My partner chose the slightly spicy sausage which he said was amazing. For mains, I had a perfectly cooked pink herb-crusted rack of lamb and my partner went for the venison. Both were brilliant. The prices were extremely reasonable, tasty food and a great selection of wine (we had the house white wine which was more than adequate - from the Languedoc region of France). All in all, absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll come again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great French restaurant, service parfait and very friendly... felt @ home in Paris... We had the seefood plateau and Entrecote and that was excellent! Merci & à bientôt :-)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

As a lover of French food, I was presently surprised to find Rue DES Halles on my recent vacation in Munich! Wonderful meal. The restaurant's decor is understated and attractive. Would definitely return!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicenick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue des Halles also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Rue des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing