We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Less Touristy”

Wirtshaus zur Brez'n
Ranked #69 of 3,682 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $37
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Less Touristy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner at Wirtshaus zur Brez'n our last evening in Munich. Located on Leopoldsstraße in Schwabing, a short walk from the Munchner-Freiheit U-Bahn station, the restaurant is somewhat less overwhelmed by tourists than the many Bavarian restaurants in the vicinity of Marienplatz, about 3 km away. Fortunately, we had made reservations on a busy Saturday evening just before New Year's, so we were seated right away in the upstairs area. Service and food were top-notch, the atmosphere fun, and prices were reasonable. Who could ask for more?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    199
    52
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place, gooood food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Although packed with guests the service was great, the variety of dishes enormous, the quality of the food excellent. The menu is fun to read, very unique. They have specialty weeks with new seasonal meals. The prices are okay. As dessert I can commend Apfelstrudel or Kaiserschmarren!! Don't leave without dessert!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank leolimoncello2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in Schwabing district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our dinner here; we stopped in on a Friday evening and the place was packed; the hostess asked if we had a reservation; we did not, but they were able to accommodate us; our waiter was very accommodating and attentive, and the food was delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great traditional Bavarian in a modern setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food on a nice tree lined (slightly busy) street. It is in a trendy neighborhood with lots of life. Fun atmosphere and the choices are very good. Easy walk from the Ubahn. The Fleischpflanzerl (homemade burgers in mushroom sauce) is excellent and the Wiener Schnitzel is my new favorite in Munich! Save room for the Kaiserschmarrn (shredded pancakes with roasted almonds and apple vanilla sauce). Order early as this dessert takes 20 minutes to make.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Bavarian Restauran in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I ve been in Munich several times, and I know pretty well bavarian restaurants (that I love the food)...THis is definitely my favorite... I t has the best food in all Munich, fantastic duck and schwein braten. The atmosphere is not touristic like any bavarian restaurant in the city, and you can find many local people. Service is fast and kind, a good German place to spend the evening with good friends!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank realswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus zur Brez'n also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus zur Brez'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing