We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bavarian Restauran in Munich”

Wirtshaus zur Brez'n
Ranked #105 of 3,767 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Bavarian Restauran in Munich”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I ve been in Munich several times, and I know pretty well bavarian restaurants (that I love the food)...THis is definitely my favorite... I t has the best food in all Munich, fantastic duck and schwein braten. The atmosphere is not touristic like any bavarian restaurant in the city, and you can find many local people. Service is fast and kind, a good German place to spend the evening with good friends!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank realswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    212
    55
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
1,608 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
“A nice place to have a beer and something to eat”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Our friend took us there after a long day spent at Wiesn to have some more beer and to have something to eat. The food specializes on everything with pretzels and it's really delicious. I've had a salad with tender duck meat with small pieces of pretzles. All of my friends were satisfied with the food as well as the really fast service. It was reasonably priced for Munich in the busiest weekend of the Oktoberfest.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Away from the tourists a great spot to eat”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went on a Saturday night with some German friends and came away after a great night of food, drink and conversation. Generous servings (recommend the Haxen, but you better be hungry), good drink and atmosphere. Slightly tardy service, but they were busy. Book ahead on weekends I understand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Bar & Restaurant”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Typical Bavarian food and beer with a good wine selection also. Friendly staff. Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank lanie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Munchner Freheit Region of town”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

located on the famed Leopoldstr., this famed German restaurant delivers. A split level establishment that essentially makes it three stories, it has a phenominal warm, Bavarian atmosphere filled with friendly staff and patrons.

As for the food... wow! My son had organic spare ribs and he said they were the best ever (I had a bite and couldn't argue otherwise). I had a phenominal artichoke risotto dish (Artischockenrisotto), a fondue type dish with a warm, creamy texture and a taste explosion that words can't do justice to... delicious!

We shared a table with two locals that came in after a steak dinner elsewhere, and they had come in solely for the special dessert the restaurant is know for, Kaiserschmarrn. To die for! Extremely light pancake type batter with powdered sugar and a hot plum dipping sauce... amazingly good!!

I would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to someday coming back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus zur Brez'n also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus zur Brez'n? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing