We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alte Wirt is an old good pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alter Wirt Moosach

Alter Wirt Moosach
Ranked #171 of 3,680 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Romania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Alte Wirt is an old good pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Sunday lunch in Munich we got here because was not far from our hotel. The Alte Wirt was very crowded, a lot of people eat and drunk there, it was noise, typical pub atmosphere. The food was typical of Bavaria (clear soup with pancakes, duck on red cabbage and roast pork with onion and baked potatoes. After we had a delicious dessert - apples in dough with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream and candied pears), The service was fast, Anija-the waitress spoke good English.
BUT ATTENTION to the following trick - the prices on list-menu do not include VAT. At last you must pay a higher price that you though because of VAT (19%)! It is not a problem, after all, but it's good to be prevented!
After all I recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RomaniaAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    84
    24
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Traditional Bavarian beer garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A nice little beer garden like you would expect it in some Bavarian movies. The food was great. I had the best chip potatoes of the last 4 years ( that is when I left Germany :-) )
But also my fiends were very happy with their food.
The service was very friendly not the fastest though. But other is a big solve service area as well with old Bavarian beer

Helpful?
Thank StefanAusTralien
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice suburban restaurant and beer garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is just up the street from my sister's flat, so it is very convenient. They have remodeled since I last visited and it has taken on a much more modern decor inside. The outside beer garden is still a great place to gather on warm nights. The beer is, of course, very good and the food was Bavarian and hearty. It was also quite reasonable price. I marked down a star because (in typical German fashion) when I ordered something that was no longer available, they didn't come out to tell me, just let me know when the dinner plate came in.

One of the best features and great for a laugh was the banner outside advertising their "bissnesslantsch" special!

It is also very close to the Moosach station for S Bahn and U Bahn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHerrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great german fare and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is a nice restaurant, always very crowded, in a old building in the middle of a quite recent area.
It has all the good German food with the local great German beer (HB). Staff is courteous and very fast, even when crowded the wait is very acceptable.
The only place around the area with a beer garden for summer.
If you are around Moosach, is the place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place on Moosach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I recommend this restaurant if you come in Moosach. Nice place and friendly staff, they welcome non German speaking guest and offer a choice of plates for veggies.

Helpful?
Thank raggioaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Alter Wirt Moosach also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Alter Wirt Moosach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing