We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super family-run hotel”
Review of Thalmair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thalmair Hotel
Ranked #196 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. The rooms are excellent and the bathrooms are a good size and superb. The atmosphere in the hotel is extremely pleasant and friendly. The buffet breakfast is fantastic - a great and healthy choice. Coffee is good and plentiful. The hotel is situated conveniently for the nearby hospital in Grosshadern as well as the Ludwig Maximillian university.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have just been in their location, although for a night only. The hotel is clean, mdern and spacious. personnel is very polite and available for any need. Good choice of food for breakfast, the rooms are of the right size and, although minimal, nice to see. Good location (close to U6 Metro) and surrounded by supermarkets, restaurants. etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarioNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

If the main point of your visit is Grosshadern clinic- don't look for another hotel. The clinic is just 10-15 minutes walk away.
The ambiance of the hotel is very positive! Rooms and the entire hotel are very clean. Bathroom very comfortable!
Breakfast is simple but everything is good quality and very fresh and tasty!
The stuff is extremely friendly!
In 2 minutes walk is a fantastic Konditorei with enormous choice of tasty cakes and sweets!

The only wish would be having a teapot in the room.
But in 2 minutes walk is a fantastic Konditorei with enormous choice of tasty cakes and sweets! Here actually we had our tea!
I would for sure recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akhula2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The Thalmair looks nice on the website, and we weren't disappointed when we saw it in person. This is a recently refurbished, modern, small hotel near one of Munich's large hospitals. We found the hotel to be very clean, quiet and well, furnished. The internet was free, the staff were friendly and I was able to borrow an iron without hassle. Breakfast was also very nice and included. And it was relatively inexpensive. It is far from the centre, but very close to a subway station, so getting into town was not difficult.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueredgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Hotel Thalmair quite simple is one of the very best hotels I have ever been to in Europe when it comes to value for money. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms are modern, comfortable. welcoming and impeccable. High speed internet is free and reliable. The hotel staff are helpful and accomodating. Breakfast is great and varied. The free access to a sauna on the third floor completes an extremely positive picture. In fact, the Thalmair ranks consistently at the high end of the scale in all areas. I warmly recommend them and look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EuropeanTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We came across the Thalmair simply by accident. In a miserable hotel around the block I got into an argument about having/having not reserved a baby-bed for our two year old (arguments with hotel staff are not my usual habit - this was a first and until now last experience) which ended with me cancelling the reservation and the prophesy "that I wouldn't get a room I would be satisfied with in the whole of Munich!"

Thankfully, the Thalmair was just around the corner. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are not too big, but comfortable and modern. Prices were OK, considering this is Munich, but the underground garage is for free. Also, when it was found out that they had run out of baby beds, we got a normal extra-bed free of charge (when I requested this in the other hotel, I was told that this would be possible "nowhere in the world").

The breakfast was excellent. Again, the hotel proved itself to be kid-friendly. The staff was very nice to our daughter and allowed her to use her coloured chalk on the concrete terrace.

The style of the Thalmair is modern, not your ordinary cosy-bavarian. Also, it is not in the city-centre. But it is in a typical borough of Munich and the next metro-station is only one block away.

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoernla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel was very modern, recently renovated, and relatively quiet. Internet was included in the cost, but no AC or room safe. Breakfast was also included in the daily rate. Thick walls so no sound traveled in from other rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Neumayr
Neumayr
#267 of 387 in Munich
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#230 of 387 in Munich
45 reviews
3.5 mi away
Amalienburg
Amalienburg
#182 of 387 in Munich
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santis
Hotel Santis
#238 of 387 in Munich
39 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
6.1 mi away
WESTSIDE Hotel
WESTSIDE Hotel
#172 of 387 in Munich
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalmair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalmair Hotel

Address: Heiglhofstr. 3, 81377 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $127 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalmair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thalmair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing