We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spatenhaus

Spatenhaus
Ranked #42 of 3,682 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional institution at Max-Joseph-Platz, in perfect harmony with the Bavarian National Theatre, Residence and Palais an der Oper. The Munich citizen goes to Spatenhaus with his family, and he invites his business partners to our restaurant, for special events. On the ground floor our restaurant leaves a down-to-earth impression, the four rooms on the top floor are more elegant. The restaurant stands for exclusive hospitality and exquisite traditional German cuisine. Old Bavarian dishes enrich the menu card on the ground floor. On the top floor the kitchen crew offers its guests a more differentiated menu, taking individual requirements into account. Exquisite fish cuisine, classic dishes of Bavarian and Austrian cuisine supplement each other, thus catering perfectly for all tastes. If the weather is dry, the terrace on the Residenzstrasse fills rapidly and is a truly wonderful location to experience typical Munich culture until late at night.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Apart from a humourless manager who proved to be neither helpful nor efficient this was a wonderful dining experience. Because it was our wedding anniversary we visited the establishment in the morning to make a reservation for that evening. That was the only part that was unsatisfactory and it nearly put us off going altogether ! There seems to be two distinctly different areas to this restaurant an upstairs and downstairs. Despite there being no record of our reservation the upstairs team were magnificent and found us a really romantic location for us to dine. From thereon the evening was pure pleasure - good food, well served in a lovely setting. Well done the upstairs team on all counts !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "CAHA", thank you for this kind and helpfull feedback. We truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the "humourless manager" - we have an idea on "what door to knock" about this.
We are very glad that our "upstairs team" was able to make up for that first impression. We will be glad to pass your kind words to the team. Thank you.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    633
    172
    47
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
441 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Great people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were out walking and saw the Spatenhaus , it was a lovely day so we sat outside and watched people and drank a beer . Beer was ok , service ok but the people watching was great . It's on a very busy street. Very fun !

Mike

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Mike T", thank you very much for your feedback. Unfortunately the weather is getting a bit cold here these days - but the next "people watching season" will return; promissed.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Bavarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Probably the best place in Munich for a good Bavarian meal, available all day. And... an excellent choice of traditional beers.

The service is fast, efficient and friendly.

Be warned: the dishes are VERY big, don't be carried away while ordering ! The tasting plate of Bavarian food was very tasty, but so were all the dishes we ordered during our few visits.

We have visited the Spatenhaus quite a few times, during the last ten years, and the quality of the food and the service has been consistently good.

Well worth a visit when in Munich !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodaddict001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Foodaddict001", thank you very much for recommending our restaurant here on TripAdvisor. We will be glad to pass your words to our team.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“an excellent traditional Bavarian Restaurant, with professional and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Spatenhaus, opposite the Opera House in Munich, is an excellent traditional Bavarian Restaurant.

We have visited the place over the years, and the food is even better than before. The menu is somewhat simplified, but still providing an excellent choice of the long-established local food, as well as fresh beer, or nice wine.

The service is excellent and very professional as well as friendly. Another good news is that the restaurant is open for food of any kind from the menu, all day. You can eat your main dish of the day in the middle of the afternoon, or even after an Opera performance!

If you like consistently high standard Bavarian food the Spatenhaus is your place!

Just one more funny negative: although the toilet in the restaurant is very clean, you have to pay for it, when entering! Prepare your coins! :0)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freindlytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Freindlytraveller", thank you very much for your time to write this review on your stay. We will be glad to pass your words on to our service team. Btw, you never have to pay for visiting our bathroom. The little plate at the bathroomdoor is only a friendly proposal for tipping the people that keep the bathrooms clean. No MUST, but part of the tradition. We apologize for any false impression created.
With our best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper, in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spatenhaus has location, atmosphere and fine food: Sehr gemuetlich!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spatenhaus is located in Munich Center near Marienplatz on the square directly across from the Opera House. Its a great walking location and convenient to stop in for dinner after a day shopping or touring the Platz. I've tried a number of dishes but my companion always sticks to her Wiener Schnitzel (excellent, BTW). Actually I usually have wine here (try the Burgunder) since bier is a specialty everywhere else. Atmosphere is pleasant, although it can be pretty crowded at the meal rush. Large tables will be commandeered for multiple parties at those times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Spatenhaus, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear "Jim B", thank you very much for the kind and friendly review on your stay.
Best wishes from the Spatenhaus an der Oper in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spatenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Spatenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing