We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Machete Bar Cantina - CLOSED

Machete Bar Cantina
Price range: $9 - $21
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Went here the other night since it is close to the apartment, it is a little bit out of the way, but a great find. I am from Texas, so I am always looking for really good/authentic Mexican food, and this was it. The corn tortillas were a little try, but it was still great. I had the Molcajete and it was simply the best I have had outside of Mexico. The beef was very tender and the salsa verde was great. I would definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

For traditional Mexican in Munich this is my favorite so far. I will keep looking. We shared Enchiladas Verde and Moles. Finished with Fried Ice Cream. Margaritas throughout. Sehr gut!!! I will be back again, and again.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank christinawhmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

I went to many Mexican restaurants in many European cities and I also travelled through Mexico for one month and I really found this one authentic and really really delicious. It is difficult in Europe to find a good and really Mexican restaurant. Usually all the Mexican restaurants are fake and more like "TexMex", which is only for tourists, I think.
My boyfriend and I ordered a starter "vuelve a la vida" (if I do not remember the name wrong) made of fresh fish such as octopus and shrimps, a really good sweet and sour tomatoe sauce with fresh cilantro, avocado slices and tortilla chips; two main dishes: one was something similar to 3 soft tortillas/tacos filled with chicken and covered with the typical chocolate chili sauce "mole de chocolate" (I tried one close to Oaxaca, in Mexico, but this one is better!) and accompanied by rice cooked in a Mexican style, the other one was tacos (here you can see that it is really Mexican, because the tacos are not hard but soft!) filled with chili meat, fresh cilantro and accompanied by a chili sauce and lime; for dessert we ordered fried ice-cream accompanied by fresh fruits and whipped cream (maybe too much whipped cream).
I really recommend the starter and the two main Mexican specialities! Also the dessert is good, but if you do not have too much money, I would prefer the salty dishes :)
Oh yeah, we also ordered a Margarita and a homemade cocktail made with grapefruit and tequila and made in a way such as an Italian "granita". Really advisable!
For all this we spent about 50 euros.
The restaurant is very nice, has a lot of space and some different types of tables (for couples but also for groups of friends). The toilettes are clean and comfortable. The waiters all very nice :)
Compliments to the chef. Before this one I found only one other really good Mexican restaurant, the Wahaka, close to Covent Garden in London. But now both my boyfriend and I think you are the best till now.

Date of visit: September 2015
4  Thank stellacometa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machete Bar Cantina also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing