We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich
from $49.43
More Info
from $76.89
More Info
from $32.95
More Info
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
331
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
331
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dachau concentration camp subject matter small group powerful experience provided great information train and bus excellent guide third reich answered all of our questions memorial site deep knowledge highlight of our trip meeting place meeting point nazi party wealth of knowledge visit munich
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 333 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2019 via mobile

Alun is a WONDERFUL guide. Our group was small and intimate, and he has such a depth of knowledge and passion for educating people about Dachau. He guided us on and off the public transport without a hitch, gave us time to look at the museum with his advice on timings, and took us round Dachau in a way that meant we got to experience the minimum amount of crowds and the maximum time seeing the buildings and talking about the camp history. I cannot recommend Alun highly enough - you simply must take this tour.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Perrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Thanks Perrie,
efficiency is so important in terms of getting maximum knowledge and hence value from the tour. I do my best to put nearly 14yrs of experience of giving these tours to benefit my guests and I am so happy that you feel you got that. All the best!
kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

This was well organised .There is use of bus and train.All is co-ordinated and functions smoothly.Unlike the other tours,small numbers make for a very interactive time.Discussions are interesting and informative.There was a lot to ponder on during and after the tour.Throughout the tour Alun made sure we got to see every important feature of the Dachau site without being hemmed in by other tour groups.The attention to detail was much appreciated by all in the group.Would highly recommend this tour which allows for individual questions and clearly explains the site and its history. A respectful attitude is maintained throughout which is valued by those who may have personal and sad connections to this tragic place.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Hi Roger,
it can be challenging as a guide to do the Memorial justice in the bounds of a tour, because as you now appreciate you could spend three days there and still be coming up with questions. Therefore I am very happy that you felt you got value from it. My goal is that people return home with a desire to inform themselves more and address the issues that Dachau raise, the aim being to try and secure a better future. As they say from small acorns great oaks grow!
Kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

My husband and I signed up for the small-group Third Reich Walking Tour and it ended up being just us so it was perfect! Alun was prompt, extremely informative and engaging, and clearly knew his subject matter. The pictures he brought along of the various sites as they were during the Third Reich added so much to the tour. Really glad we did this tour. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank jmpaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Yes, it ws lovely to meet you and I enjoyed showing you around Munich and enjoyed our conversations. Thanks for your valued feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

We just took this tour last week and were very pleased with Alun and his very knowledgeable and encompassing perspective of Dachau. He was waiting at the appointed meeting place for our small group to arrive and smoothly guided us through the metro/bus transportation to Dachau and back. He was engaging, encouraged questions, and gave us a much better understanding of what life was like in Dachau during this very bleak period. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank DallasPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Many thanks for your review!
I really encourage interaction and questions on the tour because on a human level we need to talk these things through. Factual information is very important to take away but the human consequences of what happened and why it happened are what we need to meditate on. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2019 via mobile

I have not met a more informative tour guide than Alun Evans. He gave a superb tour of Dachau to us and six other people. He went at the right pace and was able to answer - and put into historical context - every question we had. Additionally, he is originally from London and speaks perfect English.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank EatOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Many thanks for your positive feedback! I feel it is so important that people leave the tour with a lot to reflect on. All the best
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews