We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Munich
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich
from $49.58
More Info
from $77.13
More Info
from $33.06
More Info
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
329
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
329
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dachau concentration camp subject matter small group powerful experience provided great information train and bus excellent guide third reich answered all of our questions memorial site deep knowledge highlight of our trip meeting place meeting point nazi party wealth of knowledge visit munich
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 331 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019

We just took this tour last week and were very pleased with Alun and his very knowledgeable and encompassing perspective of Dachau. He was waiting at the appointed meeting place for our small group to arrive and smoothly guided us through the metro/bus transportation to Dachau and back. He was engaging, encouraged questions, and gave us a much better understanding of what life was like in Dachau during this very bleak period. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank DallasPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Many thanks for your review!
I really encourage interaction and questions on the tour because on a human level we need to talk these things through. Factual information is very important to take away but the human consequences of what happened and why it happened are what we need to meditate on. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2019 via mobile

I have not met a more informative tour guide than Alun Evans. He gave a superb tour of Dachau to us and six other people. He went at the right pace and was able to answer - and put into historical context - every question we had. Additionally, he is originally from London and speaks perfect English.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank EatOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Many thanks for your positive feedback! I feel it is so important that people leave the tour with a lot to reflect on. All the best
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019

Was tired from a week of touring parts of Europe and was regretting booking this last tour at Dachau but glad we did. This tour totally surprised us. It was small in numbers and Alun answered all questions with attention to details. Alun did a excellent job of explaining why Dachau was created, the type of prisoners held there, the brutality they faced daily and the strange brainwashed sickness of their captors that all this was normal in their mind. He gave us time to explore on our own and take in this solemn place with respect for those that died. This would not have been done by touring on our own or in a larger group. Highly recommend Alun if you are in Munich. It will be well worth your time.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Pat Shay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Hi Pat,
thanks for the review!
Im happy that you got value from the tour and that you feel it was worth the effort. It certainly is hard work being a tourist and getting everything in. I like to think taking a tour takes some of the stress out of all the logistics and planning ie. let the guide take care of it. Hope to see you again on a tour in the future.
All the best,
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019

Could not have asked for a better guide and service for this tour. Alun was wonderful in giving us information and background on what we were seeing. He took great care to give us enough time to explore the site on our own. Very informative. Took great care in managing the transportation to make sure our group got safely to the site from Munich and back.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank US10072019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Hi and many thanks for your review!
I do like to get the balance between giving a comprehensive tour of the site and giving some time for people to explore. The idea is to give space to reflect on what is a very confronting place.
All the best,
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of joining Aluns' tour today.

We were a small, intimate group, and Alun made us all feel very welcome. He was well prepared (even giving us a rain poncho to help combat the rain)and was flexible enough to start the tour early as all members arrived prior to the required start time. Alun was very informative, articulate, took the time to answer all questions without us feeling like dummies, and has a real passion for his subject.

Thank you Alun. Although a sombre topic, you made the day very enjoyable for us and added to our lasting memories of Dachau.

Thank k-dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun E, Owner at Alun Evans Personal Tour Guiding Munich, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Hi, and it was very nice to meet you!
I do think smaller groups are the way to go for such an important place as Dachau, questions and discussion as a group help people to think more deeply about the subject. My aim in the future is to give people the feeling of a private tour at a reasonable open sale price.
Enjoy your future travels!
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews