We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fake Thai” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yum 2 Take

Yum 2 Take
Ranked #1,989 of 3,509 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Thai, Soups, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fake Thai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Oh, do not get me wrong, lots of Thais are working here, but trust me they did not learn to cook. This place is sort of a mix between a take out fast food Thai restaurant and as an after thought, maybe I will stay after all and sit at an extremely uncomfortable table restaurant. Of course, all of the Thai classics are here, but all done very badly, the flavors are non existent, the sauces are watery, there is no passion to the food, and you only go here for the same reason you eat in a fast food restaurant, just not that many options, so you choose the least difficult. Do yourself a favor, stay at home and eat a cheese sandwich.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    60
    26
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food but bad customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been to this small Thai restaurant a few times. Their customer service have never been very good, but the food was good enough for me to keep going back. The restaurant works kind of in a cafeteria style. You go to the cashier to order and pay for the dishes, then bring the receipt to the kitchen area where they geive you an alarm device that goes off when your food is ready. You then go look for seats on your own and wait there until the alarm goes off.

When we went to the restaurant today, there were other people waiting in front of the cashier. We were standing closer to the seating area. An Asian woman suddenly came runninng over and yelled at us, saying in German that if we wanted to order take aways we had to order from the other section, and if we wanted to sit inside, she will "handle the seating". She was rude and we did not understand her accent, and had to ask her to repeat it again. She was very upset and yelled at us even though we were standing not one meter away from her.

Up until today, I had never seen a hostess at this restaurant that brings customers to their table before, and I did not appreciate the rude manner and tone of voice she adopted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ok Thai fast food and nice terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Decoration is a trendy and food itself is okay Thai fast food. Like in most of places in Europe food is not even nearly as hot as it should be for authentic taste, but otherwise I liked it .
Compared to the restaurant prices in Munich generally, the food was a little bit pricey in my opinion. Around ten euros per portion.
Inside there is a couple of dining tables and outside you can find large, cozy terrace.
Place is located nearby Viktualmarkt, next door to the new indoor market.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunoiivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very tasty Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Right next door to the Hotel Blauer Bock. Unique and tasty food. Popular, so you might have a wait.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,147 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
“Quick service and good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We came across yum2take by chance walking around Munich old town. Located near the Viktualien Market, it is cheap, no fuss dining, tables indoors and outside in plaza. Order at cash register and then get buzzer to alert you when meal is ready to be collected. Sunday night had steady flow of customers. Meals are freshly prepared, good serve size and flavoursome. English menu for non german speakers. Most dishes €8-10. Enjoyable and good for no fuss quick meal or if want to sit and linger. Has limited beer and wine selection.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum 2 Take also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Yum 2 Take? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing