We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent beer hall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augustiner-Keller

Augustiner-Keller
Ranked #39 of 3,651 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nördlich des Stadtzentrums von München liegt der legendäre Augustiner-Keller, der seine Gäste mit bester bayerischer Küche und weltberühmten Bierspezialitäten verwöhnt. Im gemütlichen Ambiente können die Gäste hier köstliche Speisen auf höchstem Niveau zu sich nehmen. Platz nimmt man in einer der verschiedenen Gaststuben, die für jeden Anlass den passenden Rahmen bieten. Ob im urigen Bierstüberl, dem großen Festsaal, dem Lagerkeller mit seinen einzigartigen Gewölben oder dem schönen Biergarten: hier kann man es sich bei gutem Essen und köstlichem Bier gut gehen lassen!
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent beer hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first visit to a beer hall, was a little confused as you just get seated next to others at a table, found out that this was the typical way in beer halls.
Waiter was helpfull, no english menu so had to try and decipher, food was excellent from the starter to the main, we also went for a large shared sweet which was superb.
Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hambones64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    1,076
    285
    99
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best beer halls in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited Augustiner-Keller in February and it was one of our favorite beer halls. We sat down in the cellar which I would recommend. The atmosphere was great along with the staff. We went on a Friday night and almost every table in the cellar was reserved. Even though we did not have a reservation and we arrived early enough around 5, they let us sit at a table with a 9 o'clock reservation. The beer was excellent as was the food. The fresh pretzels are the best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nschw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time having a few beers here and taking in munich. Staff was very helpful with suggesting other city places to visit. Not your typical tourist trap like hofbrau haus.

Helpful?
Thank Diningindixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Okay food & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

When I first walked through the doors, I was a little confused and there was that awkward moment where I wasn't sure what to do because no one came up to seat us. We ended up grabbing a table and just double checked with a waiter that it was okay. We ordered the duck and suckling pig. The meat was okay, but a little tough. The potato dumpling was as huge as a baseball but it tasted more like dough than potato—not what I was expecting, but then again it was my first time trying it. What made the dishes amazing though was the sauce! The pretzels we got were a little cold and honestly I've had better at an Auntie Anne's. But the server was very helpful and gave us recommendations when the pork belly special of the day we were hoping to get ran out. (Go early if you want to try the specials!) The food though was average, but if you're near the area it makes for an okay meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband did his research and said we had to stop in here while we were in Munich. The place is huge and the actual restaurant is in an actual garden. A beer garden restaurant in a garden...not a bad concept! We were seated outside and my husband and I were enjoying a few of their beers, very smooth! They served us a basket of huge pretzels (free refills!) to enjoy with our beers. I then ordered the suckling pig with the roasted duck with a side of potato dumplings and blue cabbage. My husband had the assortment of sausages. Everything was delicious until the bees arrived and we had to move indoors for the sake of my daughter. So our waitress was very accommodating and moved our dishes inside. Great service as well!

There's an international menu so you can figure out what you want to order.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustiner-Keller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Augustiner-Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing