We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ranked #226 of 3,703 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $13 - $65
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: What would life be without surprises? In the heart of Bavaria, our Trader Vic's restaurant will envelop you in Polynesian exoticism. Culinary delights from the Far East and legendary South Seas cocktails will put you in a relaxed holiday mood.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

always loved it in London and the one in Munch is equaly good

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    106
    53
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor experience!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

What's that? Wasted my time here - expected some original bavarian stuff - but nowhere to see!

Helpful?
Thank olala_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
207 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Strange, expensive experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I found it surprising that this restaurant would be in the to 50 or so restaurants in Munich, also that it would be inside the Bayerischer Hof. As far as the experience goes, we had food that was tasty but not that exiciting, and for the price, it felt like a rip-off. more than 30 dollars for a main course that you could get the same in other places for a third of the price. The staff was attentive but unfriendly and cold. The place has a strange atmosphere, dull and odd. The prices are very high, but I guess appropiate for where it is located, but not for the food they serve.

In the end it is like going to a PF Chang's but with not so tasty food for more than twice the price. so my suggestion, if you want to pay 30 euros for a main course, find another place, I am sure there are much better places in Munich, like the Atelier Gourmet, which I found delicious and payed the same price for high quality french food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was a little skeptical of going to a restaurant we have in the U.S. being in Germany but glad we did. It was so good and the presentation was over the top. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
480 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Group of 3 had dinner here last night. It was recommended to us by local friend. The restsurant is underground with exotic decorations. Pretty cool setting. The menu looks a bit like mix of chinese and other asian dishes, but the food was delicious even though overpriced. For mains 20-30 eur. I had the crispy duck and it was fantastic. The portions are very generous so when we had 2 starters and 3 mains among us, we were all really full. Total bill for 3 was 150 eur incl food, 3 coctails and water. Not cheap. i enjoyed eating there but dont have the need going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing