We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar

Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #53 of 3,431 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice decor....dark, romantic. Cocktails are well prepare and enjoyable. This place specializes in curry...many of the dishes feature curry bases. We went on a Monday. The place was busy by 8pm and the staff was stretched a bit by the wave of well dressed businessmen and couples. The food was excellent, thought they did get our dishes wrong. Corrections were made quickly and the food was very tasty. Go...you'll like it.

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    121
    37
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum is NOT acepting Master Card!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just left the restaurant and the food vas very good..But when I wanted to pay with Master Card thay refused it and the manger became very unfriendly,which spoiled the entire experience. What a shame!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious at a good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday and I have to say it's one of the best Thai places in all of Munich. The ingredients taste very fresh and they have a lovely menu of traditional as well as some more contemporary thai food. The atmosphere is also great - the restaurant is deceptively big considering it's rather small storefront. There are three different 'areas': the front, the middle, and the back. We had a table for two in the back where we could speak easily and had enough space (I often find thai restaurants to be very cramped!). The front was definitely more loud but there were also two or three tables of 6+.
The service was also top! I look forward to going back and definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamingGirlV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kington Langley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Healthy alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's great to eat the local fayre but sometimes I need a break from the Kellers, white sausage and sauerkraut, enter Yum. Quite simply, it's well cooked Thai food with the usual menu favourites like tempura, wok dishes, satays and plenty of vegetarian options too. The service is prompt, the ambience is inviting and it's always busy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Saw this on web site and decided to try it. Very pleasant atmosphere. Nice bowl of lemongrass infusion to start the evening with. Chose sweet and sour tofu and green curry, both excellent. All food was beautifully presented. Staff very knowledgeable and pleasant. Would certainly return to Yum for another meal if I return to Munich. Only downside was they didn't take Mastercard (seems to be common in restaurants in Munich). Worth booking a table, not much chance of getting one without doing so.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Yum - Thai Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing