We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit for spice lovers”
Review of Natraj

Natraj
Ranked #185 of 3,724 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must visit for spice lovers”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This indian place is very good.Reasonable prices and hot,yummy curries attract many a tourist.A warm staff and nice,soothing atmosphere!!Keep it Up...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    75
    29
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian with Great Service”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a good night. The flavors sparkled. The service was fantastic.

We arrived and asked to sit outside on the patio as the inside of the restaurant is quite snug. They immediately sprung into action and found additional patio chairs.

From the first spoon of dahl through my prawn entree to my mango sweet, this meal had unique flavors that were refreshing. Many items that we had were suggestions from the owner and we were quite pleased.

The service was extremely attentive but we find that everywhere we go -- maybe our constant smiles help.

Note for travelers: Indian restaurants in Europe tend to turn down the spice to accommodate local palates. We had a discussion about this with an Indian restaurant proprietor in Strasbourg so we knew to ask for "spicy" which brought the flavors up to meet our expected spice-heat level.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food .. 1 of the best indian restaurants in Munich”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Ordered chaat for starters -- it was yummy.

The service was excellent and warm.

If you are in a dilemma do ask for the chef's recommendation.

Had an excellent dinner, totally worth the price and it is not so expensive as well.

Loved the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank athulgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nightmarish food, ambience and service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Having seen good rating on tripadvisor, decided to give it a go recently, long walk from Hackerbrucke notwithstanding.

Reached the restaurant around 8:00 and after a 10 mins wait got an unclean table for us.
Asked the elderly waiter to clean our table who brushed the crumbs from the table with his hands onto all sides.

The restaurant is minuscule and without air conditioning and had 2 waiters in all, who were smartly dressed and were running frantically from table to table.

Got poppadums with chutneys and soon flies landed on the chutney and waiter was reluctant to change it. Somebody on tripadvisor did mention about flies, but I had disregarded that assuming it was one off, but they look like a regular fixture at the place.

Getting to order drinks took forever and the starters serving size turned out to be very less.

Had to almost waylay a waiter to be able to get his attention to order main course.
Waiter was outrightly rude and ventured to say that we should call have called him only when the dishes to be ordered had been decided by us and that he seemingly had come to our table and we had not ordered earlier!!!

Well... the main course arrived relatively faster. We had ordered an assortment of main courses... butter chicken, Goan fish curry, vegetable gravy, regular chicken and daal tarka.
All of them, except daal, had same gravy and same colour and texture.
Daal was overcooked and watery.
We did complain to the elderly waiter who mentioned that the gravies would be different though they look the same, since "local people" prefer richly coloured food;

It was a blatant lie, all gravies were the same colour and taste, chicken was chewy and we were waiting for the dinner to get over as soon as possible.

Would'nt revisit ever and feel pity for the other reviewers who found this an authentic Indian experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Indian1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good indian food in Münich”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We at dinner at this restaurant two days in a row. Very good food, not too spicy. The service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArneSoKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natraj also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Natraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing