We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit in Munich”
Review of Hofbraeuhaus

Hofbraeuhaus
Ranked #61 of 3,770 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must visit in Munich”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a must for visiting Munich! I thought it would be just tourists, but on one visit there was a group of locals (older gentlemen) that had come to play chess, chat, and drink beer (out of their personal beer steins) - and later invited us to join them at their table.

When it's packed inside it can get a bit stuffy, so the patio outside is a nice escape. However, you can hear the live music better from inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,155
    5,563
    2,315
    657
    605
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Historical beer hall”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very fun and historical environment with great beer, lots of noise, an umpah band and a very jovial atmosphere. The beer is center stage, but the food was okay too. Tried the pork , kraut and dumpling. Not a fan of the meat but the rest was good. A must see stop on a visit to Munich.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place for Local music & beer”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We usually go to Hard Rock Cafe in Munich. This time we tried HB which is next to Hard Rock Cafe in the city center. The atmosphere of this place is always lively full of Locals eating and drinking. It has great live music going on which adds to the ambiance.

The staff is very receptive though there is a lot of crowd. You can share tables and sit with anyone without wasting time to wait. They serve the Local Beer only in Huge glasses but its really fresh. So is the Local food which is worth a try. Overall a great place to get the actual feel of Munich !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamalpreet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Whole lot of Fun!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Yes you know going in that its mainly tourists that are going to be there (as evidenced by the bus-load of Koreans I saw, including one in a Durndel), but you'll also see many tables reserved as Stamtisches - or tables for regulars, who also have their Steins permanently kept in reserve lockers. We had a great time even with our kids, who enjoyed the Oompapa music, the huge pretzels, and just the general chaos of the place. The wait-staff while busy, seem amused and into the spirit of things, as they have to be if they want to work there. All and all it didn't seem any different from my last visit over 20 years ago, and that's what you want. There's a reason its a tradition. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Publius-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Epitome of German Fun!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was the first place my husband and I went in Munich. Being American, we were a little shy to sit next to strangers but you have no choice at the long tables. We sat next to another German couple and a couple liters of beer later, we were best friends! The band playing the traditional German music, the huge beers, the delicious pretzels and the hospitable people is everything you think of when it comes to southern Germany! A must do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbraeuhaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Hofbraeuhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing