We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hofbrauhaus

Hofbrauhaus
Ranked #53 of 3,651 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Took the family to the Hofbrauhaus. The food was delicious and we had a great time. Everyone was friendly and willing to help us. The experience was exactly what we were looking for to enjoy a great German meal. If you go, make sure you you have a hearty appetite and are ready for the incredible beer!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,762
    5,189
    2,127
    617
    523
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyday, there's a small Oktoberfest taking place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spend a very good time with friends. You have got to go there when travelling to Munich for the first time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristopheK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have fun and drink but avoid to eat there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

You can have a lot of fun thre meeting people, talking, singing. Bears is great anf genuine. However avoid (if you can) to eat there since the quality of the food is poor and you can taste the real bavarian cuisine in many other restaurants at the same prices

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank preganziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,521 reviews
830 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“Large Bear Hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I visited here with business colleagues last April. Although the bear hall was very large, the hall was full of guests. Fortunately, we could find a table on the 1st floor in the terrace area. I ordered white sausages, the specialities in Munich, and this was nice. Because of many guests, it took more than fifteen minutes before having the first drink though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great authentic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I visited here on a recent visit to the wonderful city of Munich for the xmas markets. There are a number of mixed reviews for the Hofbrauhaus but I can honestly say we had fantastic hearty food & this was combined with great service. The festive atmosphere was brilliant & the oompah band playing only added to this. We were in here several times over 4 days and it was superb!! Cant wait to go back again. Do not miss this place if you go to munich. By the way the beer is superb!!!

Helpful?
Thank doc42travel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrauhaus also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Hofbrauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing