We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Authentic Thai Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benjarong - CLOSED

Benjarong
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Genuine Thai restaurant run by a Thai family and quite close to Marienplatz. The food quality was excellent and prices reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnMel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We ended up in this place as it was the only Thai restaurant that was not full on a Friday evening. It should have been an indication of what to expect...The service was badly run by an old asian couple who seemed overwhelmed with the few tables occupied. The decor dated back to the 80s and the food quality was similar to what is found in a cheap takeaway (very oily).

Avoid by all means!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Poor service and even worse food. We were positively underwhelmed with the lack of service and numerous mistakes with our order

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

After 7+ days of German food, we decided to try something different. Our hotel and the tourist info center recommended this location as good Thai food. It is located within walking distance from Marianplaz. We walked in to a lovely wood carved restaurant where the service was good and the food was spicy. Perfect for a old rainy winter evening. The pad Thai was very good and e Tom yum soup was flavorful. It was a bit expensive but good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali_law71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
1 review
“Overpriced and Blah!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Way overpriced Thai food. If you've ever had really good Thai food before, then you'd be very disappointed at this restaurant. Ordered spring rolls and they were the size of my pinky! Pad thai had no flavor at all. Curry was ok, but not great. It's in a glitzy area, but nothing glitzy about their food at all.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank livingintheNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing