We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit- if you have the money!”
Review of Tantris

Tantris
Ranked #21 of 3,747 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $117 - $350
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit- if you have the money!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We loved the unique interior, the staff was friendly, discrete but at the same time not too humble, what we really liked. The food was very good, nothing to complain here, and it looked nice too. Drinks good, wine a perfect recommendation made by the sommelier. Only draw back was the price- for the 8-course menue a bottle of wine + some aperitifs we two payed around 650€, which could be a family- budget for a holiday... Yes, you do know that in advance, yes, that is what 2-star costs, and still, it is so much money that you really have to think twice before you go there. Unless your company or friends pay for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    90
    68
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I visited Tantris in mid September for dinner. The bright red interior is interesting, if not unique. Be aware that the restaurant will take your credit card information at the time or shortly after making the reservation - I believe the cancellation fee for no shows or cancellations after a certain time on the day is 100 euros per person. I did not mind that too much as this is a business after all although I do not recall being asked of such from other Michelin starred restaurants. The food and the wines were excellent - I wont go into detail here as other posts surely have. The one big negative was that a rather large fly was occasionally buzzed around our table as it seemed to be attracted to a plant by us. That was bad enough but then the fly went into a lampshade near our table and released a lot of dust from inside the lampshade. I wont fully fault the restaurant for the fly per se as it could have easily followed a customer in but a dusty lampshade is fully within the restaurant's control and very disappointing, certainly not what I would expect out of a Michelin starred restaurant. This put a damper on an otherwise delicious meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible ”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Mist delicious food, even though i am vegetarian. 5 course meal, reasonably sized portions, incredibly fresh , delicious, and very well presented. MUST VISIT.

Helpful?
1 Thank SunilPM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top on our list”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have tried a lot of Michelin restaurant and this has to be one of the best we have had. Fit out looks awesome, service was fantastic and the food and plating were truly spectacular. Wanted to go again the next day but of course fully booked out. So book in advance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pemba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tasting @ Tantris”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

For some reason I was expecting Chinese cuisine but it wasn't in the slightest Chinese... we were given a choice of 5 course or 8 course tasting menu and an option of wine pairing. We went for the 5 course and each course was delicious. The Sommelier was brilliant giving lots of back story to each of the accompanying wines and they did indeed match perfectly with each course. Service was professional, descriptions of each course delivered in English, amuse bouche and petits fours served at each end of the meal. One downside - it is a bit on the pricey side however it has 2 Michelin Stars and the food was faultless. The interior is also very good - a kind of funky 70's style with carpets on the walls and ceilings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantris also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Tantris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing