We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A1”
Review of Tantris

Tantris
Ranked #21 of 3,747 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $117 - $350
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A1”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a great experience. I would highly recommend going to this restaurant if you don't mind forking out the cash. There are a lot of different opinions about the décor. I quite liked the 70's style with bright orange and reds and carpet on the walls. The service was great...very attentive but not too smothering. We had the 5 course set menu. The food was probably the best I have ever tasted. The wine was very good but disappointing considering the price. I was surprised they didn't have a sommelier on hand. A fantastic experience with a price tag to match.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank momo11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    90
    68
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I was there in June 2013 for my friends birthday.

Pluses- the place is easy to find. The servers were courteous. The decor may not be for everyone but its okay.

Minuses- we had 8 course meal with wine. The food was bit salty maybe its a regional thing. I even told the server and she was sorry about it. The meal lasted for 5 hours. The waiting between food was too long over 20 mins. Which I think for a high end restaurant should never be practiced. The food were just served no explanations as to what you are eating. There is nothing special with the plating. At this price point, it did not execute the quality of food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stamwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The 'Tantris' experience started the wrong way: if you want to book, you need to give your credit card details and a cancellation fee of 100€ per person (!!!) will be charged in case of no show-up. My experience in a variety of top-notch restaurants across the globe (up to 2 * Michelin) has never brought me to face such situation. The message is clear: 'money above all'... Assuming this is a side-effect, we did book and went with high expectations. We ordered the large menu (8 courses) for 175€ per head without wine. After 1,5 hour, only the 2 first courses had been served (some 30-45 min between courses). When we asked the waiter if it would be possible to accelerate the rate of service, the response was an astonishing 'you know, we are fully booked and we need to serve 120 tables, so it s difficult' !!!! At a price tag of some 250€ per person, the answer is at least insulting! I politely reminded that international practice says max 20min between courses and the waiter's response was again 'sorry but we are fully booked today...'. This is sufficient to kill what should have been a wonderful experience. Foodwise: ingredients are excellent, tastes are (mostly) good, but at this price tag, you do expect a bit more fantasy, creativity, innovation in the dishes. More modest restaurants surprise you with their gastronomic inspirations, in the case of Tantris, it certainly did not make up the expectations of the name. Overall: both logistically and gastronomically, it fell short of expectations, at a price tag that reflects the history of the restaurant rather than its actual offering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Yailian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - fantastic service.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary and went for the 5-course tasting menu, including the wine recommendations and it was brilliant.

One point to note, I reserved this restaurant via email and they did ask for a deposit before the reservation was confirmed.

The design and decor sets the mood and the waiters are very polished and are happy to speak English to tourists like us.

The food offered includes some interesting and imaginative combinations. White asparagus was in season at the time and our first course involved a wonderful ensemble including Salmon. My favourite course was the "Entrecôte with beans, potato tarte and fresh morels". The wine selected for each course was perfectly matched.

Overall, 2 michelin stars is definitely an effective measure of the quality of food and service offered and Tantris deserves its reputation as one of Munich's finest.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OCV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto, ca
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth it”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

let me start with the positives, great service and funky restaurant design that was fun. we ordered the 5 course tasting menu with paired wines. food and pairings were solid but nothing amazing. at this price point you just need to execute to a much higher standard and the consensus was this did not deliver. too bad, we did a lot of homework to find the perfect place and were very much looking forward to it as our only night in Munich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rudyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantris also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Tantris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing