We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience everyone should live”
Review of Tantris

Tantris
Ranked #20 of 3,767 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $112 - $294
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: PASSION-Without passion, Tantris would not exist. Taking inspiration from his travels, the passionate gourmet Fritz Eichbauer commissions the building of his dream restaurant in Munich more than forty years ago. Tantris marks the beginning of a new culinary movement in Germany. PERFECTION- The term “Tantris” is derived from the Indian Buddhist culture and symbolises the search for perfection. And a visit to Tantris should be the epitome of perfection: From the seventies-era architecture to the Michelin two-starred cuisine right through to the international selection of wines and the friendly, professional service. ENJOYMENT-Right from day one, the emphasis at Tantris has been on enjoyment. For more than 20 years, the “master of simplicity” Hans Haas has put his unique signature on the cuisine at Tantris: Prepared naturally and simply with the emphasis on flavour. MAGIC-It is the atmosphere that conjures up magical moments. Once avant-garde and today enjoying cult status.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An experience everyone should live”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Tantris is a classic restaurant. It is not "only" a restaurant that has 2 michelin stars. It is an "institution" in Munich and one of the best restaurants in Germany.
The decoration is still on the line of the 70s but of course new. We found it amazing.
The food was great, but classic. Saying that, do not expect many creativity like in other starred restaurants, but that is not necessarily a bad point. Every dish was perfectly cooked and presented.
There was only a small problem that should not happen in such an excellent restaurant. One of the wine bottles that we ordered, was not shown to us by the Sommelier. Unfortunately that little mistake made a difference, because we noticed later that he brought us a different bottle from the one we ordered. Even though for the amazing experience, decoration and food I decided to give 5 stars. Who likes excellent restaurants, must go at least once in Tantris.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RuiPedroGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    91
    69
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, but some minuses”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of dining at Tantris in May 2013. The restaurant itself is easy to find. The decor may not be for everyone, but we didn't mind it. The servers were very courteous, and we were escorted to our table.

We had the 8-course tasting menu. The portions are very generous, from the amuse bouche to the dessert. We found ourselves struggling around the 5th course. Each course was introduced. Bread dishes and water glasses were kept filled.

Now, onto the food. First, the wines are paired well. The sommelier has definitely done his homework. My wife enjoyed the foie gras terrine. Unlike in America, where it comes in the form of a pate, this dish had chunks of liver embedded in the terrine. Delicious with the brioche. The veal medallions appeared to be prepared in a sous vide style, and were very tender, flavorful, and balanced.

There has been criticism of the pacing in other reviews. Our dinner did last four hours, but we did not mind the pacing one bit, as it gave us time to enjoy the food and each other's company.

The minuses - Perhaps it is a regional taste, but we found several of the dishes (notably the oxtail broth) too salty. Additionally, chef Haas is experimenting with molecular gastronomy, as many courses came with foam. I can appreciate the art form, but it did become old hat at some point.

I would rate this restaurant superior to Gordon Ramsay, but inferior to the French Laundry in terms of cuisine, service, and value.

Total came out to about 600 euro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehsiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although expensive it's a fantastic restaurant. The food is really great, from the starts to the coffee, everything was perfect. The service is excellent, they have a great staff who speak English and are very cordial and efficient. Wonderful. A must go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An experience!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful. Everything: Food, Service, Ambiance. On of the best restaurants in Munich for years and years already, and not for nothing. Might be difficult to get a table short term.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lagogrey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The most amazing service ever”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

But first about the food. This is a Michelin two star, which means my expectations (or better: demands) are extremely high. In my experience, most two star restaurants don't distinguish themselves enough from the one stars to justify the hefty extra price. Tantris definitely does.

We took the large tasting menu which was subtle, surprising, delightful. I remember a lovely turbot on mashed aubergines, great venison with gnocchi, fantastic goat cheese mousse with Belgian endives, and a feather light rice soufflé with blood oranges.

It's a huge place decorated in tones of deep red in a faux seventies style, but apart from the too stylish chairs that become uncomfortable after a couple of hours, you never feel like you're in a food factory. The reason is the unbelievable level of service here. After a while I started watching the ballet (I'm serious, it looks like a ballet) of the waiters dancing from table to table, following a set of rigid rules (No Dish Shall Be Offered By Only One Waiter Under Any Circumstance :-) ), hardly missing a beat, and still taking their time for a chat with whomever felt like it.

Worth every euro. And it's a lot of euros.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantris also viewed

 

Been to Tantris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing