We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good a meal as you will ever get; great service”
Review of Tantris

Tantris
Ranked #21 of 3,746 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $115 - $346
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“as good a meal as you will ever get; great service”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We reserved a seat here from New York and found it was well worth it. Although described as tacky, the decor, which may not be to everyones taste was very nice. We opted for the eight course tasting menu, which was merely marvelous. I forget all the courses, but the venison, oxtail consomme, lobster with pumpkin ravioli, and bass were sublime. They provided a fish amuse which was very good and lots of candies and cookies at the end of the meal. Bread was a crusty loaf and was replenished often. Not cheap at 175 Euros per person, but the service was superb.At the end of the meal when we requested a cab they provided one of their young ladies to drive us back to the hotel in a limo. Nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    90
    68
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“imperfect service”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

While dining a la carte, we had 6 different servants at our table.
Way too much to feel "pampered"!
The food was excellent

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomizileReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and original”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I are game fans, and the venison at Tantris topped all others. It was properly aged to develop the meat's natural gaminess (often not the case, at least in the US), and was fantastically tender a with deeply structured sauce. This, preceded by a beautiful lobster salad (as well as multiple amuse-bouches) and followed by great desserts, thoroughly validated the restaurant's Michelin 3-star rating. Plus the '60s decor, including a sloping orange ceiling (no, this wasn't the effect of excessive wine consumption) and Asian sculptures, was highly original and tapped into our minimalist esthetic. We loved this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank villagesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Good”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really what you expect from a 2stars Michelin,good food,good Wine selection,tastefully decora ted.the service good and attentive,Too much time to wait for my order but really whort it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and interesting decor”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you fancy giving yourself or that special person a special treat, this is the place!
Be prepared to pay extra though for the service, ambience and fine cuisine, but it's hard to find fault with the food, although for the jet lagged traveller, I would advise to go after you have had a few good nights rest as the degustation menu can stretch well into the night...but good things are meant to be savoured slowly..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MLR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantris also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Tantris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing