We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Food at its best”
Review of Mangostin Asia

Mangostin Asia
Ranked #14 of 66 Dessert in Munich
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Mangostin tavern with its modern, authentic cuisine from the Far East. Located in an old villa in the city district Thalkirchen, near the Zoo, Mangostin is full of life, joy, exquisite delicacies from Thailand, Japan and Vietnam. In summer enjoy the short getaway feeling on the terrace and the adjacent garden: Mangostin Lounge Garden is a hip meeting place and with its cookshop, it is a casual interpretation of Munich's beer garden lifestyle.
Antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Asian Food at its best”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Friends of us invited us to this place knowing that we enjoy Asian food and we are thankful that they did.

The place is huge but the tables are placed well apart so you still have some intimacy. Service is oriental, extremely friendly and professional.

After Champagne for aperitif we all had sushi and sashimi as starter. There's an abundant choice and we took a bit of everything. All was af the best quality and as it should be.
As main course my wife had Jumbo shrimps and scallops - they were perfectly cooked and very tasteful
Myself I had the Kobe Beef which was as tender as possible and grilled to near perfection.
For white wine we had a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc and as red we had an Argentinian Malbec. Both wines were wearth the price that was asked.

After dinner the owner came to say hello which I can always appreciate.

Know that you have to dig deep in your wallet for what you get but I was happy to do so after a stunning evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear "janil1", thank you very much for taking your time to leave such a friendly recommendation here on TripAdvisor. We are quite proud of our kitchen staff and will gladly forward your words to the team. Best wishes from the Mangostin Asia in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    98
    56
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Munich”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Love, love, love this place. I've been here several times and I am always impressed with the great service, atmosphere and food. We typically start with sushi and I had the shrimp/scallop grilled entree. The preparations are light and flavorful. The waiter also recommended a very good Austrian win to go with our food. A great break from traditional German food and as good as you'd get anywhere around the world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear "Amy B", thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad to meet your expectations.
Best wishes from the Mangostin in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tasty food, lovely atmosphere, but some dishes maybe overpriced”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have been eating here with friends, colleagues, parents. The restaurants have three kitchens and also different rooms with different styles (which you can see on the website). When full it can be quite loud, especially in the room with the wall with all the faces. When booking by phone you could ask to sit in a special room if you wish.

The three kitchens means that your food may arrive at different times. They normally inform you of this, but it can still be good to know (especially if you are on a romantic dinner for two).

Our favourite there is the starter with pepper leaves and various fillings. As to main courses and desserts so far everything has tasted very good, but yes, the prices are also high. We have been happy with the service on the occasions we have been there. They have been helpful and giving recommendations, they have noticed if a pause might be wished and when not. Overall very good.

In the summer you can sit outside in the garden which is also very nice to do.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear "CuriousSwede", thank you very much for leaving your friendly review here on TripAdvisor. It is very nice of you to also give the reader usefull hints. Best wishes from the Mangostin Asia in Munich Thalkirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most bland thai food I have eaten so far”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a fancy high priced place in Munich. Bayern Munich Football player, etc. would celebrate there. I went there with the expection to eat something special and tasty for the money. Me and my partner felt that was the most boring thai food we have eaten so far. And we have both been several times to Thailand. I heard the buffet for lunch in the weekend is worth going there.

Helpful?
Thank horianajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear "horianajoy", we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Best wishes from the Mangostin Asia, in Munich, Thalkirchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent mix of food in a awesome building”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a chicken Thai curry that was delicious. The building was one of the most interesting designs for a restaurant I've seen. The food was a mix of Thai, Chinese, and Vietnamese from what I could tell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Int_alfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Asia, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear "Int_alfrank", thank you very much for taking the time to write your friendly review. We are glad you liked our interior design. It took many trips to asia and even more interesting discussions with asian artists until we found what we had in mind. All the best from the Mangostin Asia in Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangostin Asia also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mangostin Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing