We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French food in Bavaria”
Review of Le Faubourg

Le Faubourg
Ranked #1,228 of 3,723 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $33 - $133
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
228 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good French food in Bavaria”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have stayed in Munich for a few months and somehow tired of the German food. Too much meet and salt for me! Anyway, I had a business dinner and this restaurant and enjoyed very much. Good appetizers (I had oysters) and very well presented and cooked mains. I ordered lamb chops and when I asked about medium rare please the waiter very nonchalantly said " of course, we are French, we do not torture meat here" Anyway, happy with the meal.

Service was very pleasant as well. I will certainly go back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quite a little gem”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice little restaurant. Very personable feel. Delicious meal- goat cheese wrapped in ham, warmed, w/ salad. Sole as a main course.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food - bad service”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The food was very good, but unfortunately the service was bad, we were ignored and got things we didn't want and was expected to pay for. A pity.

Helpful?
2 Thank kika-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite French restaurant in Munich”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Being a French living in Munich, I enjoy going to Le Faubourg for nice dinner and good wines. The room is a bit small and usually packed, but the food is excellent, and the selection of wines is very interesting.
I have to admit that the prices are not low, but actually worth the quality of food we get in.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NadAur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, poor attitude of service”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have used this restaurant on a few occasions and have always found the food to be very good.

(n:b highly seasoned meat, which is not too everyone's taste).

The latest meal here was good food again, but.....the service was poor and at the end of the meal the bill was somewhat of a joke. Aperol sprizz normally served with either white wine or prosseco had apparently been made with champagne, unbeknown to us, turning these normally 6/7€ drinks into 12€ a pop. This was an attempt to scam tourists which we are not, unimpressed and no longer going to use this restaurant.

Shame, but poor service and incorrect bills are inexcusable in a city with 1,500+ restaurants many of them excellent.

Helpful?
3 Thank JLouch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Faubourg also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Le Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing