We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Faubourg

Le Faubourg
Ranked #647 of 3,435 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $33 - $133
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quite a little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice little restaurant. Very personable feel. Delicious meal- goat cheese wrapped in ham, warmed, w/ salad. Sole as a main course.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food - bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The food was very good, but unfortunately the service was bad, we were ignored and got things we didn't want and was expected to pay for. A pity.

Helpful?
1 Thank kika-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite French restaurant in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Being a French living in Munich, I enjoy going to Le Faubourg for nice dinner and good wines. The room is a bit small and usually packed, but the food is excellent, and the selection of wines is very interesting.
I have to admit that the prices are not low, but actually worth the quality of food we get in.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NadAur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, poor attitude of service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have used this restaurant on a few occasions and have always found the food to be very good.

(n:b highly seasoned meat, which is not too everyone's taste).

The latest meal here was good food again, but.....the service was poor and at the end of the meal the bill was somewhat of a joke. Aperol sprizz normally served with either white wine or prosseco had apparently been made with champagne, unbeknown to us, turning these normally 6/7€ drinks into 12€ a pop. This was an attempt to scam tourists which we are not, unimpressed and no longer going to use this restaurant.

Shame, but poor service and incorrect bills are inexcusable in a city with 1,500+ restaurants many of them excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank JLouch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, surly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to me by my brother, who described the meal as the best he had in Europe. I can only agree that the food was outstanding, easily one of the best meals I've had. Unfortunately the evening was somewhat marred by a very surly French waiter, who refused to speak anything but French (we're in Munich!), despite us saying German or English was preferable, who did not smile the entire night and was anything but welcoming. In fact, he gave the distinct impression he was offended by our non-French speaking presence! A second waiter was far more engaging with the guests, and we wished we had been served by him, instead. Despite the great food, it left an unpleasant taste in our mouths.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barbecueblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Faubourg also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Le Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing