We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Kaisergarten

Kaisergarten
Ranked #12 of 63 Dessert in Munich
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Being our first experience at traditional Bavarian/German cuisine (we tend to favour the more Mediterranean diet) we were really quite impressed.

The place - we found on trip advisor and believe it isn't more highly rated because it's not in the more tourist town centre. It had a nice laid back atmosphere and although the tables inside were reserved (it was Saturday night after all) we were seated immediately on the nice tables built around the trees outside. We were also supplied with a blanket in case you got cold.

The staff - unfortunately we don't speak German and the girl at front did not speak a lot of English but wasted no time in summoning a really nice guy who did. The menu was not in English but he spent the time to tell us what things were and gave us recommendations for traditional dishes.

The food - simple but really tasty and satisfying ( veal meatballs served with potato salad and veal fillet in crispy breadcrumbs served with little roasted potatoes) and finished off with big massive pancake thing that they cut up and serve with applesauce and preserved plums. Think big massive fluffy Yorkshire pudding, those of you who know what was is of course. And all swilled down with some nice ale. I would definitely recommend this place, it seems to be full of locals instead of all the large benches of tourists I saw tucking into fast food in the centre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princessminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    102
    43
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The food is good at kaisergarten and the terrace very nice although too crowded. The service is excellent despite the chaos of Friday nights! Our waitress was super. We reserved inside as you can't unfortunately reserve outside. We wanted to sit outside, however. The server said it might be tough but she would see and invited us to order a drink. The drinks were served promptly and she had no problem coming back again and again to ask what people wanted since members of our party kept arriving one by one. No sooner had all of us arrived had she found us a table! Dinner was good despite the real squeeze at the table. Thanks! We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ledmondsvarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super friendly”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

It was packed when we arrived because it was raining so the garden was out of action. We were offered a place at the bar, which was absolutely fine. Unfortunately, we don't speak German, but the waitress took the time to explain the menu to us in full. The food was great and the service continued to be flawless all evening. Also the dark beer was bottled, but very nice. A very positive experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OinkyPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“one of my favourite places”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

went back recently and we were not disappointed. the kitchen is just excellent, friendly staff, cozy relaxed atmosphere. great for lunch or dinners and a wonderful beer garden in the summer

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddy_oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Simple Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The atmosphere is just right - small but not too small and yet very busy and very popular with local people as wellas tourists. We had no reservation but squeezed us in and served us very quickly to ensure we had time to eat before we had to give the table up to the customers who had reserved.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenmac2256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaisergarten also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kaisergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing